Tag, you’re it!

In case you didn’t know, Saturday, June 13 was World Doll Day. Started in 1986 by Mildred Seeley, it was established as a day to “celebrate not only dolls, but caring, nurturing love and the people offering it, in general.” What a great idea, huh? In honor of World Doll Day, I was tagged by Farrah Lily from Cozy Comforts and Dolls to take part in a fun game. It was a pretty easy tag, here’s what I have to do:

1. List 3 favorite dolls from the ones you got last year.
2. List 3 dolls currently on your wishlist.
3. Tag 5 people to do the same thing! (Anyone with a home on the web, not just bloggers, can be tagged!)

Hmmmmm…let’s see. This is hard! I didn’t buy a lot of dolls last year and I only bought  AG. Interestingly enough 2 of my favorites from 2014 were purchased used from Ebay. Here goes!

1. Cassandra (an AG #40)
goodies 9  Minion 1

I have absolutely fallen in love with Cassandra, I envision her as my “common sense girl”.  When I first started looking at a #40, I had some hesitation.  After a trip to the AG store in Columbus, I got to see the #40 mold in person and decided I really liked it, and went ahead and bid on her in an Ebay auction, winning her by only $1!  When she arrived I was absolutely smitten, she sat in a chair in my living room for weeks so I could look at her, went on a trip to visit Evil Twin with me, and completely stole my heart. I’d have to say that even if I included my dolls bought so far this year, she would still be my favorite.  Cassandra has logged more “in car” time with me than any of my other dolls.

#2 Kit Kittredge

Alyas stuff 8   Vday 3

I have always thought Kit was cute, ever since they came out with her, and last summer I decided it was high time I bought her.  No regrets either, she’s most definitely one of my all-time favorite dolls ever.  Her stories are my favorite of all of the AG ones too.  In my doll gang, Kit is the funny, adventurous and slightly mischievous one!

#3 Rebecca

NYE 11 Xmas 2

It would just be wrong of me not to include Rebecca in my top 3, considering she’s the doll that got me back in to AG! She’s my other “common sense” girl in the house, just more assertive than Cassandra.  I bought her because she is my mini-me in looks (her hair is longer).  I don’t know if it’s because I bought her first, but in the back of my mind, I envision her as being the oldest of the girls.

My wishlist??  This is actually harder than picking my favorite 3.  Let’s see–I’ve had my eye on #55 for a while and lately I’ve been kind of obsessed over #57.  That’s two!  I’m going to say #3 is a doll I rescue from a yard sale/thrift store/flea market that is either in good shape (don’t know if you guys saw the one Amaya came across, wow!) or needs some serious TLC and can be customized without worrying about damaging her.

Now, who to tag?  I pick:

1.  Nonna from Mommy’s Doll Club

2.  Jen from The Dolls Between Us

3.  Emma from Wackadoodle Dolls

4.  Clara from Clara’s Craft Corner

5.  Sophie and Brenda from The Savage Dolls

If I didn’t tag you but you’d like to participate, feel free to still leave your answers in the comments below or let me know if you did a post on your own blog.

You can read more about World Doll Day by clicking on this link:
https://www.daysoftheyear.com/days/world-doll-day/

 

 

10 thoughts on “Tag, you’re it!

  1. Well, since Julie is a 70s girl, and doesn’t know what blog tag is, (her time capsule is a journal and snapshots, after all!), I’d like to answer the first 2 questions here, OK?

    1) Well, since I only got 3 dolls last year, I’ll just name them. Jason, one of my boy dolls (an AG /OG hybrid), and Swingy, (and that’s all YOUR fault, Flo! LOL) and AG #47, Shante’.

    2) Dolls on my wishlist would be a Via-E Tatiana doll (which I have pre-ordered for a mere $68!), and it was really tempting on this last Jill’s Steals and Deals not to order #61. I have never owned a new AG doll, though I did pick up #55 for my grand-niece (for when she’s older). One day, I would like to experience what it feels like to open a new AG doll, and not have issues w/ hair or loose limbs.

  2. I’m glad you posted, I would have tagged you, but I knew it wouldn’t work with your blog. You’re never going to let me live Swingy down, are you? LOL

  3. I love your choices! Cassandra is so adorable and I think her face mold is one of the cutest. I really like her snazzy glasses. It’s it amazing how they can almost come alive with personality as you start photographing them and making stories! Dolls are so great in that way, no matter how old you are. It’s always so thrilling to find a great doll at a thrift or yard sale! I have seen some amazing doll restorations out there…you’d just never know they were used before!

    • I am really getting into having each girl have specific accessories too, sort of their “signature piece”. Still have my fingers crossed that I’m going to come across a doll that needs a new home. Bitty Baby was a great find, but kind of limited in what I can do with her.

Leave a Reply

