Doll Sized Finds: A couple days later

I’ve been complaining for a while how there has been a lack of selection at thrift stores and that I thought it would probably pick up once yard sale season hit. It’s definitely improving and a day after I posted my last group of finds, I decided to go check out the 2 stores close to home. I only spent about $8, but boy did I find some cool stuff!

At the Salvation Army I found this awesome radio for $3.99:
thrift again 1
I loved the vintage look of this and it’s a nice size for one of the doll rooms. And it works! They had two of them, but I only needed one. They also had two of the same one as I bought before that I have in Marie-Grace and Rebecca’s room. Not only do these look nice and make a realistic addition to the rooms, but since they work, it provides me with some music while I work on the doll house.  (It also came in handy last night when we had no electric for about 2 hours!)

On to the Goodwill! I came across this tin for a whopping 49 cents (don’t break the bank!)
thrift again 2
It needs a little cleaning up, but I think it will be ideal for storing small doll accessories in. It reminds me of the tin that comes with Kit’s lunch set.

Something I’ve been debating about for the dollhouse is a bathroom. I’d pretty much shelved it unless I came across some super inexpensive “parts”. I found this:

thrift again 3 thrift again 4

It was only $1.49, originally came with a doll called “Little Mommy Princess and the Potty”. It makes a flushing sound with a corny comment afterwards. I think I will probably do some modifications to it, it sits just slightly lower than needed, but otherwise I think it will work. I also have a jewelry box I bought a while ago that I can modify into a sink/vanity, and a shower stall should be easy enough to make. Just not sure where I will put it!

Found this cute stein from Ocean City, it was only 49 cents, I think that one of the girls obviously went there while on break!

thrift again 5

This last item is similar to something I bought earlier this year, but when I saw it I just had to have it, way too cute!
thrift again 6

thrift again 7  thrift again 8

Yup, it’s another one of those little soap gift drawers, and I really didn’t need another, but when I saw the design on it, I just had to get it. I’ll work it into one of the rooms somehow! It was only $1.50, I may have to do some furniture rearranging to accommodate this piece. The owls sucked me in, aren’t they adorable?!?!

Over the weekend I went to Dollar Tree to pick something up and these were right at the front of the store:
thrift again 9

When I got home I stuck it under a lamp and that little bird was swinging away!  I’m hoping that there is enough light in the room where the doll house is that it will work there, it’s the perfect scale for a fun decoration for 18 inch dolls.

I have a very busy and exciting week planned–later this week I’m heading out with one of the girls on a “field trip” and we are going to meet Xyra and one of her girls from “Tea Time With Melody Q“!  I’m just hoping the weather cooperates and we don’t all end up soaking wet.  Very excited about getting to meet up with them, I’ll be sure to take some pics to share with everyone.  I’m also hoping to share the mostly finished bakery project–I say mostly because while it is technically done, you know how you’re never really ever “done” with something like this!  So even though it’s “finished”, if I find something else or discover another craft project that will work for it, I will still share it until the end of the year when Grace is retired.  As the saying goes, “it’s not over till the fat lady sings!”

15 thoughts on “Doll Sized Finds: A couple days later

  1. Ok, jealous about the radio! I love the vintage look of it! And those owls are too cute! And your dolls can go “potty” now! LOL! (yeah, can you tell I’m a pre-school teacher?) Super finds!

    • Isn’t that owl box adorable? I have a fixation with Hedwig anyhow, and I’m in love with the new “Girl For All Time” owl, might have to get that!

  2. So jealous of your potty! It even matches the bathtub I have for my girls (the OG Owl Be Relaxin’ one). I’m probably going to buy one of the dog water bowls that is shaped like a toilet for the bathroom when we start work on my doll house (probably going to go with a shelving unit one like you have). And great minds think alike – I have a wooden jewelry box that I plan on converting into a sink and bathroom vanity that I picked up thrifting for ridiculously cheap.

    • Oh gosh, I never thought about the potty matching that tub, that would work out well! I looked at that dog bowl, I’ve seen one used on another blog, can’t remember which one though.

Leave a Reply

