The New Girl

School is out here, yay! The girls have been enjoying those first few days of freedom, but yesterday they got a special surprise. I told them that something would be coming that they weren’t expecting, sometime after lunch. They were all speculating as to what it could be, and were talking so much about it, they almost didn’t hear the doorbell ring. They all ran to see who could be the first to open the door. You can imagine the surprise when they opened it and this was what they saw:
new girl 1

They were all standing there with their mouths open, looking at her, then she started to speak.
new girl 2
“Uh, I hope I am at the right house…um, my name is Shivan.”
new girl 3
“This is my dog Archie. Am I at the right place???”

I interrupted at that point because she obviously was a little nervous. “Girls, I want you all to say hello to Shivan. She’s going to be living here now, she’s going to be starting at the school you all go to in the fall.”
new girl 4
The girls were all excited and huddled around her, asking all kinds of questions. She explained that she was from Pittsburgh, her mom and dad were both of Indian descent and grew up in England, but came to the US to go to college and liked it so much that they stayed and became American citizens. Her dad is a college professor at the University of Pittsburgh and her mom is a radiologist at the hospital there.

new girl 5

Marie-Grace asked her if she had any hobbies or played any sports. “Oh, I LOVE to play soccer, I’m already signed up for the team here. My mom’s cousin Jess is a women’s soccer player in California. And I love art, especially painting.”

The girls all introduced themselves. “Hi, we’re Abby and Zara, we don’t live here, but live in the house across the back yard.”
new girl 10

“I’m Cassandra, I came here last fall. You’re going to love it here!”
new girl 11

The rest of the girls introduced themselves, then Rebecca said she had a question. “Mom, where is she going to sleep?” I explained that for now she was going to have to share the room with Kit, but that once the new bedroom was finished, she and Alya would share a room. “Oh cool!” replied Alya, “a new roommate! Nothing personal Cassandra, but…, well…, uh–you snore!!” The girls all started to laugh.

new girl 6

Kit told her she would show her the bedroom that they would be sharing for a while. They went upstairs to Kit’s room. “Hmmmmm, that bed is awfully small, how are we both going to fit?” asked Shivan. “Oh, it folds out to double it’s size!” replied Kit. “Oh good, I thought it was going to be rather crowded.”

new girl 7

Just then Coconut ran over to her.  “Oh my gosh, is he ever cute!  Does he belong to you?”  Kit told her yes and also to be careful with any stuffed toys she might have because Coconut liked to claim them as his.  “Thanks for the warning!” responded Shivan.

new girl 12

Marie-Grace offered to show her the room she shared with Rebecca.  “I love the bedding on your bunk beds, it looks so cozy.”  Marie-Grace told her that I had made most of the bedding in the house with the exception of Kit’s and that I would probably make her and Alya matching ones for their room.  “This is going to be so much fun” said Shivan.  “I don’t have any sisters, just a nosy little brother who drives me crazy!”

new girl 8

While Shivan was touring the house and getting aquainted with the girls, Archie was trying to make new friends as well.  He tried to share his toy with Meatloaf, but Meatloaf wasn’t too sure about it.

new girl 9

new girl

The girls spent the rest of the evening talking about all sorts of different things.  They also explained that in a few weeks, they would all be leaving to go home to visit their families.  Kit would be heading to Cincinatti, Rebecca to New York, Cassandra to Washington DC, Marie-Grace to New Orleans and Alya would be traveling across the ocean to Turin, Italy where her parents were living.  Even Abby and Zara would be heading to New Mexico to visit her dad’s family that still lived there.  “Wow, I just have an hours drive to Pittsburgh!” exclaimed Shivan.  “I can’t imagine having to go on a plane to go visit my parents, that’s amazing.”  Rebecca explained that they would all be back by August 1st though since they all had school related activities that started then.  Shivan said that she would be doing the same since soccer practice would start then.  “I think I’m really going to like it here though, the best of both worlds!”

____________________________________________________________

In case you are wondering–I was having a difficult time deciding what to name her. I had several things in mind, but nothing was coming together. I really wanted her to be of Indian descent, that was my intent long before I bought her. A name I have always loved is Siobhan which is an Irish name. Only problem is that so many people don’t know how to pronounce it. Then I remembered a host from HSN (yes, the shopping channel!) who went by the literal spelling–her name is Shivan Sarna. You can imagine how tickled I was when I looked her up online and discovered that she is of Indian descent and that this spelling is a traditional Indian name! It’s more commonly used for boys, but I didn’t care, it worked out perfectly for my storyline. I changed her last name to Sharma in memory of a gentleman I knew who had been a college professor at a nearby university, he passed away just a couple of years ago. And that’s how Ms. AG #62 became Shivan Victoria Sharma! (The pronunciation in case you are wondering is Shi-von with a short i.)

16 thoughts on “The New Girl

  1. She is absolutely gorgeous! I’ve been on the fence about her — I really don’t like AG’s photos. Unfortunately for my wallet, #62 has now been added to my wishlist.

      • XD, I’ll tell my sister instead (we save up our money together)! Honestly, the only pictures of dolls that seem to represent them well are GOTYs, a few BF characters, and a few TMs.

  2. Welcome Shivan! Flo are you running a boarding school like in “Facts of Life” 😉 ?
    Can you share what Marie Grace is wearing? I’ve been referencing your doll clothing retailer links again! Thanks so handy. Keep you posted if I take action.

    • Yeah, I just offer rooms though, the school is nearby. Just call me Mrs. Garrett! That outfit is an Our Generation, it was one of their new spring line. It was called “Play it Cool”, it comes with a really cute green jacket and a pair of red shoes that I wasn’t too wild about. It does fit rather snug, I’ve not been having very good luck with some of their clothing lately.

  3. Beautiful doll! Isn’t it just so fun to add a new member to the “family?” It loos like Shivan is going to have a great time at her new house. I love all of the bedding and rooms setups you have. So cute! 🙂

    • Yes, it always is fun! I’m definitely at a stopping point because I’m running out of “bedroom” space for any future dolls. So unless I see something at a yard sale really cheap, I’m going to have to be good.

      I’m hoping to do a full “house tour” in July, be sure to check back.

Leave a Reply

