Doll Sized Finds: Not Your Typical Fare!

I’ve had an interesting two weeks of doll finds, and most not in the usual places. First off, an item that a friend made for me:
dsf ny 1

I don’t crochet or knit, but I really wanted to have an afghan for my girls. I contacted a dear friend of mine who is always making something to see if she could help me out. She said “sure!” and next thing I knew, I had this cute little blanket. I paid her in a dinner to our favorite Mexican restaurant, she said she didn’t want paid but I wanted to do something to thank her! The funny part is I told her if she had some bits and pieces she wanted to use up that was fine, and I wanted natural colors–tans, creams, etc. When she got started, she sent me a photo of what she had so far to make sure it was okay–it was more than okay, it was exactly what I had in mind. I guess being friends for the past 14 years pays off, she knows my tastes pretty well. Love it! 🙂

dsf ny 2

Thanks Aunt Paris!

dsf ny 3

Doesn’t it look cute laying across the end of Cassandra’s bed too?

My next find I had seen in Joann’s a few weeks before, held off on it, but last week I decided to give it a try. I figured if it didn’t work, I could always return it.  It worked out so well that I ended up going to another Joann’s while I was out of town and picked up another.
dsf ny 4

Yes, it’s supposed to be a picture frame, but look at how well an 18″ doll fits!
dsf ny 5

Kit looks like she is going to fall asleep!

dsf ny 11
It was regular priced at $19.99, but Joann’s is running a 60% off sale on most of their beachy themed summer items, so it ended up being $7.99. I’m going to change where the glass is to something else so it looks more like a chair, stay tuned.

Also at Joann’s I discovered that they are clearing out some of the Springfield Collection items, the particular store I was at had some seriously fantastic deals. I got the pink top and skirt for $4.97 and the purple top and pants for $2.97! Be sure to check your Joann’s!
dsf ny 6

Hubby and I were in Canandaigua, NY for an event, and while we were there we checked out the downtown area. They have some very nice and unique stores there. I stopped into an antique store, and they had some very cool miniature items. I am a lover of glassware, my mother and grandmother were both collectors so I come by it honestly! I’ve been thinning out my personal collection because our needs and space have changed, but when I saw these plates that looked to be the perfect size for my dollhouse, I couldn’t NOT get them!

dsf ny 7  dsf ny 8

These are made by Akro Agate, probably in the 1930’s or 40’s. They would have been part of a children’s tea set, but as we all know frequently these items get busted and broken, leaving just bits and pieces. I thought these would make fantastic dinner plates for my doll kitchen, and I couldn’t pass them up. They were more than what I would spend on doll stuff normally at $6.25 each, but considering they are antique collectables, I wasn’t surprised. What was SUPER cool at this shop is they had an original children’s punch bowl and cups made from the pattern that inspired the original Samantha’s Lemonade Set! I didn’t get it for two reasons–1) it isn’t doll scale and 2) MEGA expensive! But it was neat to see some of the dishes that they based that set off. (if you are not familiar with it, there is a set here)

Yesterday I met my sister-in-law for lunch.  On the way I stopped at a Goodwill that I hadn’t been to in quite a while.  I spotted this on the shelf and when I saw the price tag, I couldn’t pass it up–$2.99!!!!  I just love it, I need to figure out where to put it in the doll house.  I’m trying to figure out what it was intended for, I suspect a particular type of collectible as it only has one shelf and it isn’t centered.  There is no place for a second shelf either, so it was intended to be this way.  It also has a hook on the back to hang it with and is 10 1/2 inches tall.  Anyone recognize it?

dsf ny 10

Last but not least, I have to share this photo with everyone.  On our way home from Canandaigua we stayed at a hotel in Dunkirk, NY.  You can imagine my husband’s reaction as we got out of the car, he saw these dolls peering out the window at us.  He looked at me and said “I can’t even get away from them for a DAY!” (he laughed as he said it!)
dsf ny 9

15 thoughts on “Doll Sized Finds: Not Your Typical Fare!

  1. Love the beach chair… Great repurposing! I would stick a piece of map from a coastal town in the photo slot. Can’t wait to see what you do.
    Great photo of other dolls at the hotel. Seeing other dolls out and about is always exciting, and sometimes it is hard to tell which doll you are looking at!

  2. I’ve seen similar shelves before sold as jewelry boxes and scored a gorgeous one at my local St. Vinnie’s for 5 bucks (it is a natural golden wood colour with beautiful etched glass side panels and I’d seen similar ones, new, at Walmart for 50ish and without the etched glass detailing). I am using it as a china cabinet to show some of the pretty dishes I have for the girls (and will be doing some refinishing to it). I’ve gotten a couple of other nice jewelry boxes that look like dressers or end tables for quite reasonable prices at the Salvation Army stores here in town as well as at St. Vinnies.

    • Thrift stores are the best places to find doll “furniture”, I’d bet close to half of what I have in my dollhouse has come from thrift stores.

  3. Awesome additions to your collection. I love the photo of the other dolls on vacation!

    The afghan is lovely – it’s great to have talented friends like that.

    At AC Moore i picked up the smaller canvas beach chair for the minis. They love it. 🙂

  4. I love the beach chair! Mostly the ones I have seen are either too large or too little but the Joann’s one is a perfect fit. I crochet and now I want to make a few afghans for my dolls, they need new blankets!

    • Yeah, even I was amazed at how well the chair/frame fit the dolls, when I first looked at it I wasn’t sure. You definitely need to make some afghans now!

  5. Perhaps a piece of quilted fabric placed inside the beach chair frame, it would look like it was a back cushion with an addition of some fibre fill to make it seem more puffy. Great finds, do you want me to check out my JoAnn’s down here to see if they have any more of those beach chairs?
    ET2

    • That’s sort of along the lines of what I was thinking. Two is all I needed, thanks for the offer though. It’s almost too many, I’m going to have to quit buying anything large until I get that dresser out of the room!

Leave a Reply

