Columbus Or Bust!!! (or “How I learned to love ear piercing”)

When Evil Twin was here for Easter we talked about going to the Columbus American Girl store and taking a couple of the girls with us who wanted to get their ears pierced. After a bit of schedule checking and a minor crisis, we did manage to get on the road Monday morning at 7:15 AM. Prior to that though, Zoee had a bit of a meltdown shortly before we were supposed to leave.
columbus 1
“I’m not going!!! I’m not getting my ears pierced, no way, no how!!!! Grandma always said that if God had intended you to have another set of holes in your ears, he would have put them there in the first place!”

Okay. I guess that answers that. However, Felicity, Nancy and Cassandra were still excited about going.  We set off down the road and everyone was having a good time.  Unfortunately it’s a 3 hour drive which is long enough when you’re an adult, but when you’re only 18 inches tall, it seems like an eternity.  About an hour in to our trip, the questions started.

“When are we going to get there?”

“How much further???”

“Are we there yet?”

“If you carpeted Florida, how long would it take to vacuum?”

They seemed to be appeased with the answers.  Then the real problems started.  Felicity started to have second thoughts.  “I’m afraid.  Does getting your ears pierced hurt much?  Is there any blood?”  She started to cry.

Evil Twin and I told her it was really simple, and it only hurt for a split second and there wasn’t any blood.  She seemed to be okay with it.

“Quit being such a wimp!” joked Nancy.

After what seemed like forever, we finally arrived!  The girls were super excited to get there, and so were we. 🙂

columbus 2
Arrival picture–of course Cassandra stuck her hand in the air just as I snapped it, sorry Nancy!!!

We decided to go see about doing the ear piercing first so no one would get scared and change their minds. We didn’t need any butterflies in the stomach to interrupt the rest of the trip! We went to pay for that and then headed over to the piercing station where a VERY nice lady named Sally took care of the girls. Cassandra decided she would go first, she was so brave!

columbus 3
Cassandra with Sally after she had her ears pierced, thank you Sally!

Next it was Felicity and Nancy’s turn.  They decided to go in together for moral support.  Felicity was still really scared, but she got through it okay.  Afterwards she said “that wasn’t so bad!”

Columbus 4
Felicity and Nancy wanted their picture with Sally afterwards too, she was so nice to them and reassured Felicity that everything would be fine.

Nancy took such a shine to Sally that she asked if it would be okay if she hung out and chatted with Sally while the other girls checked out some of the store. Sally was more than happy to do that, and Nancy was so excited. Sally was very interesting, we found out that she collected American Girl dolls before she ever started working for them and that she has 31 dolls total, wow!!

First stop was to meet Grace Thomas, Cassandra and Felicity couldn’t wait!
columbus 5  Columbus 6

Grace was such a sweetheart, she even gave the girls a tour of her patisserie.
columbus 7
The girls got to meet several other girls around the store and check out some of the cute outfits.

columbus 8
Hey, this girl has the same outfit on as…
columbus 9
…this girl!

 Nancy caught up with us just in time to meet Julie

columbus 10
We did some shopping and I had a chance to talk to Sue, my personal shopper from the last time. We didn’t sign up for the personal shopper this time, but it was terrific to see Sue, and even though we weren’t utilizing her service, she was more than helpful. I was super excited to hear that she has been stopping by the blog regularly to read too. 🙂

After we were done shopping, it was time for lunch. We hadn’t had anything since breakfast before we left and we’d built up quite an appetite with all that shopping! We got all situated at our table in the bistro and then Hannah came around to wait on us.
Columbus 11   columbus 12

columbus 13

columbus 14
After we placed our order, the girls enjoyed reading the “Table Talks” cards and asking Evil Twin and I questions. It made the time go very quickly, and before we knew it, our meal was there.

We all had the same thing–Mediterranean Chicken Salad, which was VERY good! It was a ton of food, we were all stuffed when we were done. Of course we had to try the milkshakes too, Evil Twin, Nancy and Felicity had the chocolate and Cassandra and I split the Grace’s Chocolate and Cherry flavored one. I think the next time we go I might be tempted to make a meal from just the ice cream menu, it was yummy!

After we were done, we got ready to head out. The girls were really excited that they got to keep the cups and saucers that they had been drinking out of as souvenirs. Nancy and Felicity both decided to leave theirs at our house so that we would always be sure to have plenty of mugs for them to drink out of whenever they come to visit, isn’t that sweet?

It was a long ride home, and when we pulled into the driveway and opened the door, this is what we found:
columbus 15

After a little while they were wide awake again and couldn’t wait to pose for pictures so everyone could see their new earrings:
columbus 16

columbus 17

As you can see, Nancy and Felicity both picked up American Girl Columbus t-shirts as well. Evil Twin picked out a new pair of glasses for Zoee since she decided not to go, I think they look really cute on her!  She’s been doing really well in school, so this was a special surprise for her.
columbus 18
Cassandra had saved up some money to get some new glasses too. She still likes her pink ones, but thinks these ones make her look more scholarly, don’t you agree?
columbus 19

We had a wonderful day at American Girl Columbus and just want to thank Sally, Sue, Hannah and Claire for taking such good care of us. Everyone is super nice at the store and it made a great experience even better. Our hope is to go back in the fall again, perhaps someone else will get their ears pierced this time. I wonder who? We just know it won’t be Zoee!

Over the weekend Cassandra will share what we picked out while we were shopping.  She had a great time looking at all the displays and not only picking out a couple of things for herself, but for the other girls here too.  We didn’t get any sneak peaks on any of the new stuff coming out, but you could certainly tell they were getting ready for lots and lots of new goodies!  Claire at the checkout told me that she had seen the new releases and that they were “super exciting and lots of fun!”  Can’t wait for Thursday. 🙂

A million bonus points to the first person who can identify where the “vacuuming Florida” question came from!

14 thoughts on “Columbus Or Bust!!! (or “How I learned to love ear piercing”)

  1. Hey! Sounds like you guys had a great time! None of my girls are into the piercing thing either, except Shante’ b/c she came to me that way. Tell Zoee I think she still should have gone, even if she didn’t get her ears pierced, b/c it’s fun seeing all the new dolls and things. And I’m glad you got to go to the bistro! I do like the food at AG. Can’t wait to see what yo guys bought!

    And I think it was Nancy who wanted to carpet Florida and vacuum it!

    • Zoee may be going in the fall when we go back, but I doubt we can convince her into the ear piercing LOL! The bistro was awesome, what we had was very good, I would highly recommend it. ET and I were glad we took your advice.

      It was Cassandra who said it in the car, but it is actually a quote from somewhere else. (Hint: a tv show about flying)

    • We had a blast. Yeah, I was amazed when she said she had 31 dolls and that 19 of them she got before she worked at the AG store!

  2. Do you know when AG is coming out with new stuff? ( I am going to the store in June so I was wondering if any new stuff will be out) Also, did they have any good sales while you were there?

    PS What do personal shoppers do?

    • You will have lots of new stuff to look at, there is a fairly big release coming out tomorrow, start saving your money! I know that there will be 3 new dolls included in this release. Claire wasn’t allowed to tell me anything beyond that, and only that because I asked. You will be able to see most of the new goodies tomorrow morning on the website.

      As far as sales, it was all the same stuff that was on sale on the website, and some of those items were already sold out in store. I know when I was there in the fall it was pretty much the same thing with sale items then too. I did pick up a sale item that I had debated on, I was glad to see that they still had it, the one I got was the last one on the shelf!

      Personal shopper is a service that American Girl offers, you have a store employee who helps you pick out things, shows you stuff, answers questions, and in some stores they even have a special room for people who use this service and the personal shopper goes and gets the stuff for you. I would probably never use the service in that manner simply because I want to see EVERYTHING, but I can see where it would be super useful for someone who had mobility issues, was traveling with an infant, etc. Personal shoppers are full of all sorts of neat information. I liked that Sue had encouraged me to pick things up and check them out, I would have been hesitant to do that if I hadn’t been with a store employee.

      One other advantage to using the personal shopper service is that once you “connect” with one at your store, you don’t necessarily have to go to the store to buy some of the store exclusives, you can contact them and they can arrange to have those items shipped to you. I haven’t tried that out, but I have heard that it can be really fun because some of the personal shoppers will put “surprises” in to the packages!

      Have a great time in June, I think you will love it! The food in the bistro was awesome too. Which store are you going to? If you do decide to use the personal shopper service, you do need to reserve that in advance, there is a form under the “stores” section on the website and then they contact you to set up a day and time. If you are going on a specific day, be sure to do this far enough in advance, I’m sure during the summer months that books up pretty quickly.

  3. I have more than 31 dolls but they’re not all AG. I only have Thomas (who was my son’s and began life as a Kirsten), Joy (#4), Taylor (#46), Etta James (#58) and Saige from AG. (I actually don’t know how many dolls I have in total).

    Glad Columbus was a good trip! Can’t wait until Nashville next week!

  4. Thank you for sharing your great trip to Columbus! None of my girls would be stopping at the piercing pagoda – but then I’m not pierced so they tend to follow my lead. LOL

    This is a great story! I love how Zoee had the breakdown. She looks fabulous in her new glasses and so does Cassandra,

    One of these days I will get to an AGP. I’m so happy to see they are willing to let you and your girls interact with staff and displays.

    I still want one in Philly, if it’s anywhere in the burbs near Nonna and I I know I will have to get a job with them to offset my shopping. 🙂

    • I hope you get a chance to go to one sometime, it really is fun. They are very accommodating, and everyone is so nice. That’s funny what you said about having one close, I said something similar to Nonna just a few days ago about it being a good thing our closest one is 3 hours away!

  5. Wow! 3 hours! I was complaining about 1 hour to the LA American Girl store, but an hour in LA traffic FEELS like 3 hours. Hehe

    I am impressed with Sally. 31 dolls! I am overflowing with doll stuff in my house and I just have 9 dolls! (well if you only count AGs)

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

