Broke Girl Bakery: My Life As Cupcake Baking Set and Snack Stand

One of my goals in doing the Broke Girl Bakery was to do it for less money than the $500 price tag that American Girl has on the French Bakery, so I am constantly on the look out for inexpensive accessories. As you can see from previous posts and several yet to come, there are lots of things that you can make yourself and lots of cute little accessories that you can buy to go with it. It wasn’t long after I started this project that I thought of one thing I had seen that I thought would be perfect for this, and another popped up on a blog that I thought would work as well. I also thought both of these would be good for someone who wants to do something in a bakery theme, but perhaps not in to crafting.  It was just a matter of finding them!  Neither of them were expensive either, very much in keeping with my original idea for all of this.

I’ve mentioned before that I’m not a big fan of the My Life As clothing line for 18″ dolls found at Walmart. I can’t say the same thing about their accessories though. I think that many of these items cannot be beat, especially for the price. Last summer I got the tent/camping set and I love it, well worth the price. I remembered seeing the Snack Stand before Christmas, but at that point I really didn’t have any use for it. As soon as I started this project, I was kicking myself for not buying it because as you can imagine, once Grace Thomas was introduced and the stock being depleted after the holiday, finding it was like looking for a needle in a haystack. I wasn’t about to give up though, and I did eventually run across it at a Walmart about 25 minutes away, luckily I had a stop there anyhow. At $27.95, it is well worth the price. It looks like this:

Photo from Walmart.com
Photo from Walmart.com

I’ve seen this in two different colors, the pink and white shown here and the purple and white which is what I got. The food accessories vary too, so don’t count on finding ones identical to these. Not sure why, but not a big deal. Here is mine with the purple and white covered with scrapbook paper to match the décor of MY shop:
MLA 8

I think everything is really very cute in this set, I especially liked the beverages:
MLA 9

I did get a chuckle out of the giant cookies though! Reminded me of those ones they used to sell in the shopping malls that you could use as a birthday cake. 🙂
MLA 10

The cash register is cute, the drawer even opens.
MLA 11

It also comes with various signs that can be hung on the back or wherever. They are made of cardboard, but not sure how well they will hold up over time with much play. Not sure what the square things are supposed to be: plates? Napkins? Hot Pads?
MLA 12
Overall I think at just under $28, this is a great value and is especially nice for someone who wants to recreate a bakery without spending a lot of money or having to do a lot of crafting. The stand itself is well made and I think will hold up well, it’s not a fragile piece.

The other thing that I had been wanting for the bakery were some more accessories. I first saw the bakery/chef set that Target had online at $24.99 and thought it would be nice to have. Good luck finding it. I was very pleased to see My Life As release a similar set called the “Cupcake Baking Set”. It doesn’t have as many pieces, but get this–ONLY $5!!! It had the primary things that I wanted that I didn’t already have: a muffin pan, a mixing bowl, cookie cutters and measuring spoons. It took a bit of looking but I did eventually find it. (My Walmart stinks, I’m going to quit even looking there for specific things!)
MLA 1
Here’s Marie-Grace doing her best Vanna imitation with everything displayed so you can see it better!
MLA 2
First, the disappointing piece: the mixer.
MLA 3
Yeah, the set was only $5, but seriously, they couldn’t put a bottom on this? I wanted to be sure that everyone saw that just in case it was a deal breaker. It wasn’t a huge issue for me since I do have the Grace Thomas Baking set with the stand mixer. I was just shocked at how this was finished.

The rest is really cute though!
MLA 4The cupcakes actually fit in the pan! Too bad they only included two. 😦
MLA 5
The cupcake stand is really nice, and I was excited to discover that it came apart, I thought maybe I could change the layout on it, but no such luck. I still see this as a good thing though for storage purposes.
MLA 6
I love the apron, I think it is very cute and fits well. The neck tie and waist tie attach in the back with Velcro.

And now for my favorite thing in the whole set:
MLA 7
These measuring spoons are beyond adorable!!! They remind me of a set I had from Tupperware when I was first married. Very well done, and let’s be honest, if AG sold these by themselves, you know that these alone would be $5!

Even with the shortcomings on the mixer, I’m very pleased with this whole set.  I think both of these sets are terrific additions to any bakery collection as they offer such a nice variety of pieces at an extremely affordable price.  The hardest part is finding them. :/

Broke Girl Bakery Project Totals to date:

Total spent as of March 16– $24.89

Money spent on the Snack Stand –$27.97

Money spent on Cupcake Baking Set–$5.00

Total spent as of April 16, 2015:  $57.86

Apologies for taking so long on the next installment on this, as I mentioned before I injured my back and as a result, not only was I having difficulties in doing certain things but everything (blogs, house, etc) all got behind.  I’m recovering and finally getting caught up!  I was just thankful that I had some posts already photographed and/or written before I got hurt or you guys would have had nothing to read, eeek! LOL

 

6 thoughts on “Broke Girl Bakery: My Life As Cupcake Baking Set and Snack Stand

  1. What a great amount of loot for such a reasonable price. Too funny about the bottomless mixer, lol. I would not personally be able to stomach forking over $500 for the Grace baking set. Not for me and certainly not for a child. I know people do purchase it and I’m sure it’s good quality, but it’s great to see other items you could have fun with for a cheaper price, or better yet make your own things! This is a great series. Thanks for sharing your finds!

    • Thanks! I’m with you on not forking over $500. Last night I was thinking about it and I couldn’t help but wonder, how many of these are going to end up not being played with, especially when January 1st rolls around and Grace isn’t the GOTY anymore? I much prefer spending my money on items that can be used for other things and repurposed.

  2. I’m so happy you have the purple one. There was a big bruhaha over the pink and white one being a rip off from The Queen’s Treasures. I can tell a lot of changes were made from the pink & white set to the purple; I’m glad they did that.

Leave a Reply

