Bitty Baby Outfits on Regular American Girl Dolls

Every so often a Bitty Baby outfit catches my eye and I think “my gosh, that would be cute on an American Girl doll!” I often wondered how well it would work, and I’ve seen where some people have done it, but I’d never bothered to try it myself. Enter the Aqua Argyle Dress and the Red Argyle Outfit. I’m a sucker for anything in an argyle pattern to begin with. Then they started marking the price down on both of them. And then they marked them down again. Last week I decided to order Kit’s Chicken Keeping outfit while it was on sale, and decided to add both of these outfits as they were marked down to $8. I figured at that price it was worth taking a chance on, and now I did have a Bitty Baby doll that could wear them if I didn’t like the results. Well, bad news Bitty Baby: unless you can sneak in to the doll wardrobe and take them yourself, you just may be out of luck.

First up: Alya in the Aqua Argyle Dress
bitty outfit 1
I was super surprised at how well everything fit! The dress is a little bit short, I might be tempted to pair it with jeans, shorts or leggings, but it’s not horrible. The tights had me concerned because Bitty Baby is a good 3 inches shorter than an American Girl Doll. You can imagine how shocked I was when I pulled them up and they fit perfectly. Even the shoes fit too. They were a slight struggle to get on, but not much, I’ve had shoes that were made for AG dolls that were as much of a struggle. Overall I think it’s a cute outfit and it looks as good on an 18″ doll as it does on Bitty Baby.

Next: Rebecca in the Red Argyle Outfit
bitty outfit 2
It was only natural that Rebecca try this outfit on as she is my mini me/preppy girl. I was thrilled with how cute it looked on. The jeans end up being more like capris or pedal pushers because of the height difference, but I still think they look terrific. No difficulty at all in getting them on, nor with the shoes.

bitty outfit 3
Overall I would call this little experiment a complete success. There are some Bitty Baby/Bitty Twin outfits that probably wouldn’t work well on the 18″ dolls simply because of the juvenile designs, you don’t want them wearing clothing that is obviously designed for infants. But once in a while there is an outfit that would definitely work for both. I’m really glad I gave this a try, definitely worth it. Maybe I can convince the girls to let Bitty Baby wear these once in a while, pretty please?!?!

18 thoughts on “Bitty Baby Outfits on Regular American Girl Dolls

  1. Hey! That argyle dress is on my blonde Bitty Twinnie, Anissa. I actually have a few Bitty dresses that I use on the big girls. I love The Prairie dress, since it’s a granny dress on a Bitty, it’s the perfect size for an 18″ doll. I also have the Pretty Purple Christmas dress (Shante’ wears that one), and Kim had on the demin and plaid one for MLK assembly. (please note, Bitty dresses are kinda wide for Adora friends and Springfield dolls). I don’t mind the short length, b/c girls wore minis in the 70s. I haven’t gotten any Bitty Boy clothes for my boys. The shirts wouldn’t be so bad, but the pants are too short. That might work for a boy of today, (‘cos of the ridiculously long shorts boys wear now), but boys in the 70s wore shorter shorts. I’d say you got a good deal! AG usually has Bitty Christmas dresses on sale in the spring, so that’s something to think about for your girls!

    • That’s one I’ve been kicking myself over Xyra, I always liked it and by the time I decided to go ahead and buy it, they were sold out. Keep thinking maybe it will turn up on Ebay really cheap this summer after all the Wisconsin sales. Not holding my breath though.

  2. This was neat to see. I always loved those outfits and considered the sweater for a boy I’m working on.

  3. Oh wow! I’m really surprised how great those outfits look on AG dolls! There’s been a few that I’ve thought were cute, but assumed they wouldn’t fit correctly, too. I especially love the dress and tights!

  4. I saw a teal Bitty dress on someone’s AG and HAD to have it for Saige. After season clearance is a great time to get Bitty outfits for your AG. It’s tough to get the gender neutral ones though – seems enough of us have figured out this trick! BTW the Bitty bed also sleeps an AG should you find that on sale and “need” it. 🙂

    • I’m anxious to see what turns up on Cyber Monday too! Lately the sale items for Bitty Baby have definitely been too juvenile in their style.

Leave a Reply

