Doll Sized Finds-TJ Maxx (and my 100th post!!)

I don’t like TJ Maxx. I LOVE TJ Maxx. I can’t even begin to think of all the things I have bought there over the years: cookware, handbags, clothes, shoes-you name it. I’ve also found some really cool stuff to use for my dolls, and lately it’s been a gold mine.

One thing about TJ Maxx is you have to go regularly if you want to find things, because they buy close outs and discontinued merchandise, you never know what you are going to find and how long it’s going to be there. Luckily for me (or maybe unluckily for my wallet!) there is one only 5 minutes from my house and near JoAnn fabrics. Talk about a bad situation. 😉 Last week I needed puffy paint from JoAnn’s so of course I had to see what they had at the Maxx! I only spent $5, but it was a good $5.

First off: you may remember a few weeks ago when I found one of these and had wished that they’d had another because I thought they’d stack nicely. I was thrilled when I found another, they actually had several, so I was able to test out my stacking theory before I bought it too. Works like a charm! I think this will be a nice addition to the kitchen, bath, bedroom or the Broke Girl Bakery. I love stuff that can have multiple uses.

tj 1

Then I came across this cute little basket! Perfect size for all sorts of things: groceries, flower picking, a picnic. I can see many uses for this and since it’s all metal, I think it will hold up well. It is also a sugar packet holder.
tj 2

A couple of weeks ago I popped in quickly because my husband needed a different cover for his cell phone. I decided to look around a little bit, and while perusing the toys, you can imagine how surprised I was to see not one, but two American Girl Meatloaf Travel Carrier Pet Sets–the one that not only has Meatloaf but also includes bowls, a pillow bed and the box that can be reused as a travel carrier if you open it carefully. Hmmm… I decided to pass on it, but a few days later we had dinner at the Chinese place in the same mall, so I decided to go see if it was still there. Yes, they still had it! I decided that Alya needed a pet, she has been so good with everyone else’s dogs, she’s never had her own because of her dad’s job taking them so many different places. She was thrilled! (I checked again when I was there a few days ago and they had gotten some more in, so I think TJ Maxx must have made a deal on the remaining stock. I only saw Meatloaf though, $24.99, and comes with extras!) He is so cute, I can’t understand why AG decided to discontinue him so quickly, I think he would be adorable as one of the newer posable pets too. Go figure.

Meatloaf 1   Meatloaf 2

Meatloaf 3

I’m also excited because this is my 100th post! When I started this blog, I wasn’t sure how well this would go. I’ve met so many fun and interesting people, it has been such a neat experience. I was afraid I wouldn’t have enough to write about but the more I wrote, the more I came up with. Thank you all for reading my blog, your comments, your support and your friendship! I can’t believe that in just a few months (July) it will be one year since I started it. Time flies when you’re having fun. 🙂

11 thoughts on “Doll Sized Finds-TJ Maxx (and my 100th post!!)

  1. That’s the Meatloaf I have (got him at Costco). Just wish he had a collar, but that’s easy enough to make. 🙂 Yes, I agree – AG discontinued him too quickly…R&D dropped the ball sending out these pets knowing the posables were in the works. He’d be perfect posable. Love Meatloaf!

    Congratulations on 100 posts! Keep up the good work.

    • Oh, I got so excited by Meatloaf I forgot about the other finds. Those sugar packet holdres are the best. I found one in chrome at Walmart. The little bins would be perfect in the bakery – show off the bagels.

      • Target had little cross hatched metal bins the other day but they disappeared quickly. They were more squat than sweetener packet sized and longer. They’ll be in one of my “stores” whenever that gets done!

      • I got some little baskets a while ago that are also sugar packet holders that are just the perfect size for books, magazines, etc. The sugar packet industry is keeping us supplied!

    • Yeah, I see a collar and leash making session in my not too distant future, can’t have all these pets running around loose and unidentified! 😉

    • Thanks! He’s so cute, but yesterday after I took those pics, I was carrying him back to the dollhouse and I dropped him. Yowsa, I wasn’t expecting the “thud” as he hit the ground. I don’t want to do that too often!

Leave a Reply

