Meet the Pets!

I’ve been wanting to do this post for a while, but I’ve had so many things to write about, it’s been sitting on the back burner. Finally Coconut looked me square in the eye and said “NOW!” in that forceful, West Highland Terrier way, so I had to give in. 😉

We have quite a few pets here for the girls, all dogs at the moment. I’m allergic to cats, so I guess that is a good thing. The oldest of the AG dogs in the group is a husky named Skip.
Pets 2
Skip was made by AG, he was released as part of the sled dog set. I got him really cheap when they were discontinuing that set. He’s plush, non-posable. He’s one of the earliest pets (if not THE earliest) in the MyAG line, and he had no name, was simply sold as Husky dog. I named him Skip after the dog in the book “The Children of Noisy Village” by Astrid Lindgren. It was always one of my favorite books when I was growing up and I remember as a kid wishing I had a dog named Skip. He is technically Samantha’s dog in our house, but since she’s away, the other girls have been taking care of him. You won’t see him in the doll house very often, he’s a bit large and he’d much rather be outdoors playing.

Rebecca wanted a dog of her own, and not long after she arrived, she adopted Scout.
Pets 3
Scout is some sort of terrier mix. He is a Boyds Bear dog, made as part of a gift set they sold. He’s plush and very posable, his legs and head all move. I’d purchased him a while ago and one day came across him while looking for something else. I thought he’d be a perfect pet for Rebecca. He loves to lounge around on the bed, sometimes gets in to mischief with the other dogs.

Then there was Coconut!
Pets 4
I’ve told this story before: I’ve loved Coconut from the very beginning, but wasn’t wild about the fact that she wasn’t plush, more of a rock, so I’d held off buying her. Last summer AG finally revamped all of the pets so that they were posable and much more life-like. On a trip to AG Columbus I saw Coconut in person and it was love at first sight! Coconut is Kit’s dog, but everyone plays with her, she’s just so darned cute!

At Christmas, Chester arrived.

Pets 5
Chester is a Pomeranian and belongs to Cassandra. He was named after the dog on the TV show “The Nanny”, also a Pomeranian. If you haven’t realized it already, Chester is really Boo, “The World’s Cutest Dog”. He was also a keychain and I very carefully cut the loop that held that part in place. I found him for sale at a store near here, but I’ve also seen him on Amazon, available like this or dressed in any number of outfits. He’s really a nice plush toy and even though he isn’t jointed, he’s actually somewhat posable.

Can’t forget Finn!
Pets 7
Finn is made by AG and is actually Rembrandt from the Saige collection. There is a really funny story about me getting him. I’d missed out on him when he was originally sold and I wasn’t about to pay what they wanted for him on Ebay (at the time was around $40) so I’d resigned myself to not having him. I love herding dogs and I would have loved to have gotten him for my crew. Cyber Monday of 2014 arrived and lo and behold, there he was. Only one problem–you couldn’t buy him due to some sort of glitch in the computer system at AG. I even called the company and the girl there couldn’t even order him for me that way. Several hours later, I decided to go in and see what was left in the sale and just for the heck of it, I decided to click “Add to Bag”-and it worked! I was so excited I posted about it on another blog, only to discover that Nonna (bless her soul!) had also been trying to buy it for me as well, she knew how much I’d wanted him. Wouldn’t that have been funny if I’d ended up with two of them! When he arrived I decided he would be Abby and Zara’s dog, but I didn’t like the name Rembrandt, so with the help of my friend Catherine, he became Finn. I love his face, he looks so serious and soulful, doesn’t he?

Last but not least: Lulu.

Pets 8
I’ve had Lulu even longer than I have had Skip. Lulu is jointed and is made by North American Bear as the companion to their bear, Muffy Vanderbear. I had her stored away and a couple of months ago, I remembered her cute accessories. I went digging around and pulled her out, she is now Marie-Grace’s dog. She’s also a West Highland terrier, a bit smaller than Coconut. The accessories included a dog bowl, a bed, a brush and a really lame leash.

I think with all the pets available that fit the AG dolls, AG needs to come out with a doll sized Dyson Animal vacuum!

Pets 1

Stay tuned though, we aren’t done. We had a little pet “surprise” recently. 🙂

15 thoughts on “Meet the Pets!

  1. Too cute! My group has 4 dogs: Muttley (AG Toasty), is Danny’s dog, Butterscotch, (AG Cooper), is Cheryl’s dog, Snowflake (new AG Coconut) is Stephanie and Melody’s dog, and Boomer (Springfield Collection puppy), is Julie’s dog. Jason has 2 turtles named Fred and Barney, Miss LaSalle’s class has Henry the Hamster, and of course there’s old Cherokee, the Battat quarter horse that belongs to the local dude ranch, who’s available for local fairs, the pumpkin patch and Camp Echo Hill. I like your dogs, they’re so cute. Tempted as I am to get more dogs, I have too many dolls for everyone to have a pet.

    • Yes, it would definitely be very crowded at your place if you did! I have to get busy and work on my horse that I found at the thrift store last summer, I need more hours in a day.

  2. I need to do a pet post. This is great! Scout is SO cute! Skip IS big but the husky I know personally is too…I need to look up these books as well, it seems.

    • Yeah, he is a bit large. I think of him as a malamute as opposed to a Siberian husky. Pet proportions aren’t something that AG seems to be the best at LOL.

  3. Such a cute bunch! I remember the Muffy bears! I had Oatsie the horse. I remember saving my allowance forever to get her. so glad you were able to get Rembrandt, too!

    • I have Oatsie and Hoppy too, Hoppy is dressed in an English riding outfit (imagine that?!) I think they are still making new Muffy stuff, but I haven’t seen it in a store in ages.

      • Love the dog pets.. My doll, Zoe Arden-Parker has a whole bunch of cute rabbits for pets. It’s hard to keep them all in the hutch. They are coming along with Zoe when she goes to visit her aunt and all her kids. They are all nice and cuddly, but just watch out for those back feet. About the “Commitments” , not for young childrens ears. Our brother was a band member for oh so many years, and I ask him about the movie, and he said ” Yes, a lot of that kind of stuff goes on when you play in a rock band.”

Leave a Reply

