One Broke Girl-Bakery Display Case, Part 2

Sorry it took me so long to get to the next installment in this, I had some things that I had to take care of. Luckily I am mostly caught up on them, and we can get back to business.

In the last post I was upset about the raised grain on this piece after I painted it. My friend Sherri Leonard had posted that I could sand it and then paint again. My sister (Evil Twin) also suggested the same, and I’ll be honest, the thought had crossed my mind as well, so I decided to give it a try on all the spots where they would be exposed. It didn’t get rid of all of it but at least it helped some. Good suggestion!

On to our project! By now you should have all the pieces painted white. You need to take one big drawer and one little drawer and set them beside each other with the knobs facing the opposite direction (outward) like this:
drawers 1 drawers 2

drawers 3
I apologize for the excessive pictures, but I just want to make sure that everyone has everything facing in the right direction because if you get this wrong, you can’t really fix it! We are going to glue 4 of these to the top (which is actually the bottom) of each of these drawers:
drawers 4
They are called furniture buttons in case you need to know what you are looking for. Where I bought them they cost $1.07 for the whole package of 18 and it worked out great because I needed several for another project I was working on as well. This is what it looks like:
drawers 5  drawers 6

Set them aside for several hours so they dry thoroughly before proceeding on to the next step. Overnight would be even better!

For the next part, you will need some blue painters tape, the kind used to keep from getting paint where you don’t want it. Tape around the bottom first, then using small pieces you can tape around the knobs. Do this to both drawers that you glued the furniture buttons to as well as the main part. (Are you starting to see where this is all going???)
drawers 7  drawers 8

drawers 9  drawers 10

Now you can paint everything BELOW the tape black as well as the knobs.  You will also need to tape off the knob on the two remaining drawers and paint that black as well.

drawers 11 drawers 12 drawers 13

After allowing sufficient time for the paint to dry, you can remove the tape. I can see where the tape lifted a little bit on one spot that I’m going to have to touch up, but otherwise, looking good.

drawers 14

Till the next installment!

For the first part of this tutorial:
https://sayhellotomylittlefriends.wordpress.com/2015/02/12/one-broke-girl-bakery-display-case-part-1/

12 thoughts on “One Broke Girl-Bakery Display Case, Part 2

  1. Great progress! This is going to look fabulous when it is done.
    When you do the final cost analysis don’t forget to factor in your time. My boss is fond of saying “Time is money.”

    • So true! I will pay a couple of pennies more to shop at the grocery store in my backyard instead of schlepping across town to go to Walmart for this very reason, to me, it all balances out in the long run. After I read your post I had to think how much time I had in this piece, and truthfully, really only two hours. There is a lot of waiting time for glue and paint to dry, but the work once you get started actually goes pretty fast. And hopefully it will go faster for others since they have this tutorial to go by, I had to do some trial and error stuff to figure things out.

  2. I’m so excited about this craft. A few years ago I stocked up on these dressers (coupons) so I have several in storage. It never occurred to me to make them something OTHER than dressers. I’m totally considering putting castors on them so they roll…can’t wait to see more!

  3. My sister is one of the most creative people I know, and just think, she’s my sister. We came from a long line of people with the creative stream. Our mother and Grandmother were people who’s minds were always working on some new thing. I consider myself lucky to have had so many opportunities to stretch our abilities to the limit, without being harassed to “clean that mess up, it makes the house look terrible.”

    • Yeah, and if you could see my house right now, you’d see that things haven’t changed either! 😉 Between dolls and Ebay, it’s a bit of a wreck at the moment.

Leave a Reply

