One Broke Girl-Bakery Display Dome

We are going to sidestep a little bit on our display case project (gives you more time to paint it all white if you are working along with me!) because I found something that was just TOOOO cute, and I couldn’t wait to share it with you. I was at my local craft store (I’m sure if you are a regular reader, you’ve noticed I spend WAY too much time there!) to pick up some parts for a couple of other projects I have going. As I was surfing the aisles, I stumbled upon this:

dome 1

At $2.39 I couldn’t pass it up! I wasn’t sure exactly how I was going to incorporate it in the bakery, but I knew if I sat on it a little while, I’d figure out something.

It’s actually intended to be a snow globe, here it is unwrapped and you can see that there is a little plug and cover for the bottom, and that there is a hole in the base:
dome 2     dome 3

It’s tall, it measures at 3 3/4 inches, I wasn’t sure exactly the best way to use it.  For about a week I had it sitting in my living room so I could look at it and hopefully something would come to me. And it did–pizza to the rescue! (Wait? HUH? Pizza?)

My husband loves pizza from a local place, so we buy the biggest one they sell because not only is it super cheap, but I discovered that it freezes well and is easy to reheat. However, with a pizza that large, you need something to keep the box off the cheese…
dome 4
I’d held on to this for the Broke Girl project from the last pizza a few weeks ago and it had been sitting in my kitchen since. I was doing some cleaning up and almost threw it away, when the idea popped in to my head!!! WELL DUH!!

dome 5

I glued the two plug pieces to the top using Tacky Glue to make a “handle” and I was done, no waste, and my total investment was $2.39. Only problem is because the white plug was more of a rubbery type substance, it didn’t stay on, but the black piece did.  That’s okay, I wasn’t that wild about it in the first place.  I may have to dig through my beads and glue something else there instead.  I had the little cupcake shaped erasers, I got those last year at Office Depot.  The nice part is it is all plastic, so it is lightweight and perfectly safe in a toy room.

Total spent as of January 19–$13.64

Items bought through February 23–$2.39

Total spent as of February 23–$16.03*

If you are interested in looking for this item, it is Darice 1614-38 and measures 2.75 inches by 3.75 inches. I found a couple of places you could buy it online, but they all seem to sell it in lots of 12. I imagine if you did some serious poking around, you might find it elsewhere or at least find something very similar.

*I have not included anything from the bakery case in this total yet, we will add it all up when it’s finished and then include it, in case you were wondering!

12 thoughts on “One Broke Girl-Bakery Display Dome

  1. Genius! Inspired! Those little display cases would be neat little terrariums (pretend).
    One of the neatest things about AG is this community of kids and adults inventing items for the dolls! My daughter made an iPhone for her dolls and that was way more fun than just buying a plastic one.

    • I love the terrarium idea too! Funny that you mention the creativity aspect of the AG community, I was just talking with my sister-in-law about that earlier this week. She is a retired teacher and we were discussing our concerns about future generations and their lack of ingenuity and creativity. I told her that one of my favorite things about AG fans is that so many of them are creative and how amazed I am at the young ages of some of these fans and the things they create. Restores my faith!

  2. Perfect! Our Michael’s never has all the cool stuff I’m always seeing online. And since they changed the bus routes, it’s a pain to get to JoAnn’s. But I love all the creativity doll play brings. It’s so much fun when all the work comes together!

Leave a Reply

