Behind the scenes of the Valentine’s Day party

For those of you who do photo shoots/stories on your blogs, you know just how hard some of these can be, and how much work is involved. I thought it might be interesting to those who don’t do these to hear from one blogger what goes in to one. I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again: I bow down to anyone who does these all the time, or does them with large numbers of dolls. 6 dolls for me is a lot of work, I can’t even imagine much beyond that.

As for the story itself-for me, there is a little planning involved, but not a ton. Usually I get an idea and it kind of develops on it’s own, based on things I find or already have, and how much time I have between when I come up with the idea and when I need to post it. The Valentine’s Day post came about when I did the New Year’s Eve slumber party post, so I had a good six weeks to get things and thoughts together. Several of the stories include elements and incidents that come directly from experiences I had as a young girl (and even a few as an adult!)

I’m also someone who keeps their eyes open constantly for things I can use for my dolls, so picking up items I can use for these is an ongoing thing. Some of the items used for this post were purchased even before Christmas, they were items that I saw and thought “oh, I can eventually use that!” Which ones? The walking dinosaur ($1 at Dollar General), the Feng Shui book ($2 at a local bookseller), and the Strawberry Shortcake doll ($4 at a local discount retailer). The sparkly trim used to decorate in the kitchen was something I found in the Christmas clearance stuff at RiteAid one day for all of 33 cents, couldn’t pass that up!  The bead trim I picked up at a local craft store for $2 when I went to look for Christmas clearance stuff, didn’t find much of that, but at least found something.

Doll food-I think we all have some of that! I did add a few things, but not a lot, the bulk of it was stuff I had:
BTS 2

The macarons, chocolate cookies and the little sandwiches were pieces I had from various OG sets. The cheese and crackers, Hershey Kiss cookies, almond bark, peppermint bark and the little tomatoes are all from Pippaloo, purchased a while ago.  The balloon with the chocolates I picked up at Dollar General for $3, I am hoping the balloon holds air for a long time!  I thought it was perfect for this project, and a lot cheaper than the one that AG has.

BTS 5
The cake stand here you should recognize as the piece I bought at Joann’s for the Broke Girl challenge. The cupcakes? Those are REAL chocolates, sold by a place we love called Philadelphia Candies. They make these for every holiday and one day it just popped in to my head that they would be perfect as little cupcakes. Best part was I got to eat them once the photo shoot was done. 🙂

I made a lot of stuff for this shoot as well:
The skirts that Rebecca and Abby wore along with the headbands that they and Kit were wearing. I used the mini skirt pattern from Liberty Jane that I featured here before and just lengthened it. The headbands I made up as I went along.  I also made the tablecloth and the runner.
BTS 4

I made the heart shaped lollipops myself out of toothpicks and Model Magic. I then filled a clear plastic shot glass with the clear beads that I bought to use as ice cubes, then stuck the toothpicks in it, I was pleased with how well they stood up in this. Easy, huh?
BTS 1

I also made all the little petit fours from Model Magic as well as the heart shaped cookies, the icing on the cookies is puffy fabric paint with a little added glitter. The Hershey’s syrup is a lip gloss I picked up at Claire’s a while ago and the Ben and Jerry’s Ice cream container is an individual sized ice cream I bought at the grocery store and then “tortured” my husband by making him eat it. (yeah right!)
BTS 3

Several of the gift items were super cheap, costing only a dollar: the gorilla came from Dollar Tree, the box of chocolates from Rite Aid, and the Peace Sign bag from a local craft store. The other items were a few dollars more, but not much. The Hello Kitty was part of a set I purchased at Walmart (the candy was dreadful and quickly ended up in the trash!), the bunny slippers from Hobby Lobby. The “Keep Calm” and “Hello Kitty” books I picked up at Barnes and Noble. The two most expensive things were the Downton Abbey figure and the skating bag, but both worth it. I got the Downton Abbey piece also at Barnes and Noble and the skating bag from Etsy seller If Dolls Could Dream. She didn’t have a skating bag available, but when I asked about one, she quickly whipped this one up and liked the idea so much, she made it available for sale on her site for others as well (just in case you are interested). I had seen the Downton Abbey building online before and almost bought it, but held off. Once I saw it in person, I just had to have it for Kit.

BTS 6

Let me just clarify that most of what I bought for the “presents” part wasnt pre-planned either. It was primarily stuff that I came across in my travels and thought “hey, that would work!” or something I wanted for my dollhouse anyhow. After I had everything purchased, I sat down and figured out who got what based on various things.  Only the skating bag for Rebecca and the Downton Abbey set were bought with a specific doll in mind.  The paper bag idea actually came from an experience I had in the work place when we did a Secret Santa exchange and discovered one of the guys was cheating, so everyone had to put their stuff in a plain brown grocery bag.  Real life meets doll life!

One of the most time consuming parts in doing these is all the prep work-dressing the dolls, setting everything up, etc.  I usually start out by picking out the clothing for the dolls and dressing them.  Posts like this are a little more difficult when there is a specific theme involved.  With this one I wanted them all dressed in pink or red, so I had to go through my doll clothes and figure out what I had and went from there.  Then comes the fun part–dragging all the stuff to the area where I want to do the photography.  Right now the weather is dreadful and gloomy, and my dollhouse is in a place where it gets very poor light, so I decided to move the dining area to a better place.  My dining room has a nice big window which faces north, giving me better light.  My sewing cabinet was the perfect place to set everything up.  However, it made it impossible for me to sew for a few days while I had this set up, so I had to be sure that everything I needed was already done! I will admit that having the dolls up off the floor like this made me nervous, I’m always concerned with someone doing a face plant and getting “injured”.

BTS 11
Rebecca and Abby chatting while waiting for me…

 

BTS 10
See, it’s really a sewing machine cabinet!

 

BTS 9
Tables and chairs out of the way on the floor beside aforementioned sewing machine.

While doing this, the dining room was a mess, but I can deal with it for a little while!

A chair full of dolls:

BTS 8
“Get your toe out of my ear!!!”

Finn and Coconut waiting for their closeup:

BTS 7

 

After everything is done with the photo shoot comes the fun part:  writing all of it.  And editing/cropping photos.  I usually take way more photos than I need, I’d rather do that than realize that I was missing something as I start to write, and have to stop to go re-photograph.  Depending on circumstances, I will take several photos of the same shot, with or without flash as well, and then decide which one is best afterwards.  I know it sounds like a lot of work, and I’m not going to lie, it is.  But to me it is worth it, and I think back to what a pain in the neck film was and what a blessing digital is!

Oh, and then there’s that whole cleaning up the mess thing.  I do that last, once I’m sure that the post is exactly how I want it and not before.  Thank heavens my husband isn’t a neat freak or anything.  It can be a real disaster area at times.  When I was working on the “Sled Dog” post, I had a laundry basket full of dolls and dogs sitting in the living room for a day or so.  (which reminds me, the sled is still sitting in the dining room, oooops!)

So, that’s it, a day (or two or three) in the life of a crazy doll blogger.  I hope if you took the time to read this, you perhaps learned something or got some ideas of your own.  For me, it’s a creative outlet, and a whole lot of fun. I wish I had more time to “play” like this, but life has a bad habit of getting in the way and we do need to eat.

Also, for your enjoyment: I uploaded a short film showing how the Downton Abbey “house” actually works.  I think it might be the only video of this around!

 

10 thoughts on “Behind the scenes of the Valentine’s Day party

  1. Amen to everything! LOL! But you have only 6. After having 16, that’s a vacation for me! And when camp starts in August, oy vey! I have to do this EVERY DAY for 2 weeks! We may have to to day camp this year! LOL! BTW…your video is private, hun. We can’t see it!

    • I don’t know how you do 16, that would drive me nuts. And camp, that has to be crazy.

      Try again, I checked the settings and it said public, but I reapplied it to see if that helped. I tried pulling it up via another device and all it says is “error occurred” so not sure if it’s an issue with YouTube. Tried again and it was fine, isn’t technology great?!

  2. Awesome post! I love “behind-the-scenes” of anything so I really enjoyed this. I am realizing now, more and more how much time it takes to do a doll review let alone a doll story! I don’t think I will ever be able to manage one of those. 😉 Yours was really cute, well thought out, detailed and so creative and I really enjoyed it when you posted it. I am in love with Downton Abbey as well, so thanks for the cute video as well! I love the handmade lollipops and jar. 🙂

    • Thanks! I enjoy your reviews, but yes, I agree, that kind of stuff takes a lot of time.

      Downton Abbey is definitely one of my weaknesses, in fact I need to get caught up, I haven’t watched this week’s episode yet. Too much going on.

  3. My sister has way too much time on her hands, although I admire her imagination.
    We will have to make one up with a visit from Auntie and her doll when I come up.
    I’m anxious to see the doll house, and all the goodies.

    • Hee, hee, look whose talking! (For anyone who reads this, I just got off the phone with Evil Twin and we have great things planned for when she comes to visit! Stay tuned 🙂 )

  4. I love this! 😀 It’s nice to know there are others that are constantly on the hunt for usable items no matter where they are haha. I absolutely love that mini balloon you found! Everything you used looks so nice together. Great job! 🙂

Leave a Reply

