Doll Sized Finds: looking at the ordinary

There is going to be another delay on the next installment of the Broke Girl challenge, I’ve got a problem with the item I was making that has it on hold until I figure out what I want to do to solve it. I’ve also got a few paid projects I’m working on and a little thing called income taxes (blech!) that are calling me away from it as well. I do promise I will get back to it, I have quite a few things I want to share with you. If I don’t get the problem solved on this particular installment, I’m going to move on to the next thing I had in mind, so stop by next week. I hate when a project doesn’t go as planned. 😦

Wednesday I was supposed to go shopping with my sister-in-law but she had to cancel at the last minute. I decided I needed a day out, I haven’t really ventured anywhere since the weather has been crappy, so I went anyways by myself. I stopped at a couple of thrift stores, it was a bit of a let down. I only bought two things, a sweater for myself and this:

rw and b 2  rw and b3

Isn’t this adorable?  It was only 99 cents, it reminds me a bit of Caroline’s basket.  I wasn’t sure if the little purple cloth was supposed to be in it, but it was there and I can use it.  It actually came in handy, it said “Avon” on it, and in doing some research, I have found out that the basket was indeed made for Avon, it is called a Country Egg Basket and included the cloth along with 3 “eggs” that were scented sachets.  Judging from the boxes on the ones I found on Ebay, it dates to the 1980’s, glad to see it survived.  It’s very well made, and I think it will make a great addition to the dollhouse.

I love it when I find stuff for sale that really isn’t intended for dolls, but can be used for them.  I stopped at Target and found these:

rw and b 8

$1 each for a set of 2. They are in that terrible spot at the front of the store with the fun goodies. Dangerous place! I had seen the little laundry style basket on several blogs, but I hadn’t seen the other containers. I think one of those will be perfect to hold all the veggies I have in the refrigerator I bought the girls last week. (hey, look, is that sunshine I see?!?!?!)

One thing I’ve had my eye out for were hand towels to use as beach towels for the dolls. I haven’t found much other than solid color towels lately, what’s up with that?! I stopped at a store that sells closeout type stuff, and not only did I find two towels that I think are perfect for beach towels, but they were cheap too. 🙂

rw and b 7
I especially like the one on the left and it was only $2! The other one was $3. Best part is if I decide I don’t want to use them or find others I like better, I have two new hand towels for my bathroom. Win/win!

Have you found any good human sized items that you can use for your dolls lately?

Have a wonderful weekend!

8 thoughts on “Doll Sized Finds: looking at the ordinary

  1. Awesome! I love finding mini things at stores, and when I see them, I buy them. So I have a lot of mini things for my dolls. I never owned a American girl doll, but I have a OG doll, but I really want a American girl doll they seem so pretty 😦 .

  2. I’ve found some cool dishtowels at Walgreens that look like beach towels last year. I love the dollar section at Target. The last few times I went, I didn’t find anything good though. I love classic Avon stuff, b/c my older sister was an Avon lady.

  3. You have such a good eye for these things! I LOVE that basket. Looks just as nice as Caroline’s and there’s no beating the price. I love the idea of beach towel hand towels, too! I’m gonna have to keep an eye out next time I’m at Target.

  4. Thanks all for your nice comments! I can say that I honestly “inherited” the trait of looking for doll sized items out of ordinary items, my mom was always doing that, just in Barbie or 1/12 scale instead!

Leave a Reply

