One Broke Girl–Timing is everything!

When I started this challenge, it was because I was outraged at the price of $500 for the bakery offered by American Girl in their new GOTY collection. Now it has taken on a new meaning. Last week, my husband found out that the company that he just started working for in 2013 had been sold. It was certainly a shock to us, and now we are faced with a lot of unknown factors at the moment. Until we know a little more about what is going to happen, I’ve put myself on a self-imposed spending reduction. No fun, I’ll admit, but in all honesty, it’s a good kick in the butt to work on some of these projects that I’ve been putting off, but have all the materials to make! I couldn’t help but laugh though and think to myself that I was glad I didn’t have my heart set on buying Grace, job uncertainty is the same reason I missed out on buying Saige 2 years ago. The other part that stinks is that we had to cancel our plans to go visit family in New York City in April. I was looking forward to seeing them as well as going to the AG store there and several other things we had planned. 😦 I may have to call my cousin and see if she will go pick me up Coconut’s Statue of Liberty outfit since I don’t know when we will get there.

This week I’m going to show you how I recreated one of the smaller things in the bakery: the rolling pin and dough. It really was quite simple.

dough
American Girl version

First off, while I was at our area craft store (Pat Catan’s), I found not one, but two different sized mini rolling pins. I wasn’t sure which size would work best for this, so I ended up buying them both. Then I remembered back to my own childhood, my mom frequently had two different sized rolling pins that she used for different kinds of baking projects. They were cheap enough too, the smaller one was a whopping 83 cents and the large was all of 89 cents. Last of the big spenders!  I’ve heard they sell these at Hobby Lobby as well.

Now to recreate the dough.  Several months ago I watched a YouTube video created by Sharry, “mom” to Julie of Julie Newman’s 70’s Time Capsule on how to make Jiffy Pop for your 18 inch doll.  Very clever and informative video, but what intrigued me more was what she used to make it with.  A product called Model Magic.

dough 2

I’d never heard of this before, so I asked her some questions about it and then bought myself some.  I have a lot of problems buying different kinds of clays.  I’m not a fan of Sculpey because you have to bake it and when you do, the stench it puts off is not only terrible smelling, but I do question the safety of it as well.  I can’t use regular dough type clays like PlayDoh because most of them have wheat flour in them and I am highly allergic to it.  Model Magic was the answer to my prayers when it comes to clay, it requires no baking, just needs to sit to dry, can be mixed just like other clays to create custom colors and NO WHEAT!

dough 3

To make my “dough” for my bakery, I took a blob of Model Magic in a light shade, rolled it in a ball, then used one of the mini rolling pins to roll it out in the shape I wanted.  Then I took a toothpick to rough up the ends a bit so it looked more natural.  I think it turned out cute!

dough 4

I’ve been debating on painting the rolling pins or just leaving them as is.  I doubt that I can duplicate the ornate design like on the AG ones, so I may not bother.  We’ll see.  I may also make another dough blob in a different size, color and shape for variety.

This week my expenditures were a whopping $1.72 for the rolling pins.  I already had the Model Magic and I didn’t use much of it to begin with, so I’m not counting that.  If you don’t have Model Magic and wheat isn’t an issue, I think that PlayDoh would work just as well, you might need to paint it to be the color you want since it does tend to turn white when it dries. There are also a lot of recipes for making your own dough out of simple household ingredients on the internet, give one of those a try and save a trip to the store!

Total Spent as of January 13–  $11.92

Items bought through January 19– $1.72

Total Spent as of January 19–$13.64

See you next week with the next project!

9 thoughts on “One Broke Girl–Timing is everything!

  1. The rolling pins are great! I hope your household income situation stabilizes soon. If you miss out on something, well you can be sure that you can find it later in Wisconsin during one of the summer sales. I bet Saige will be featured at the Madison Childrens Museum benefit this summer.

    • I would love to go to one of the sales in Wisconsin, I wish it wasn’t so far. It kind of defeats the savings when you have to pay for gas, hotel, etc! LOL

  2. Hey! Another “shout-out”! Thanks Flo. I love Model magic! And your craft did come out really cool. One thing I was going to do, but I didn’t have time during the holidays, was to replicate the Bitty Twinnie’s baking set. I even bought some vintage mini cookie cutters for the job. And I was gonna use Model Magic! So maybe this is another idea you can incorporate w/ Grace. What do you think?

    • Credit where credit is due, I wouldn’t have know about it if it hadn’t been for you! I’ve actually been doing all sorts of stuff with Model Magic, but it’s a Valentine’s surprise! 😉 I do agree though, anyone wanting to do special stuff for Grace, you gotta have clay.

  3. I hope everything works out for you and your husband! ♥ I love how your version of the rolling pins and dough came out! I actually like the more natural look of yours better. To me, the AG version looks more like a decorative piece than something that would see a lot of use.

    • Thanks Jen, I think we will be okay, it’s just a matter of working the “logistics” out of the whole situation. It definitely threw us both for a loop at first, but we have our fingers crossed that perhaps it will be a move in a positive direction. I agree too about the rolling pins and the natural look, the more I looked at them as I wrote the post, the more I remembered my mom’s old rolling pin and how you could see the wood grain finish and all. Of course it had been used a ton, so it had a nice weathered look to it too.

  4. Model Magic Tip – it will dry out and crumble if not sealed just like salt dough. You can use salt dough for many things without spending much at all (provided you ever cook). There are also plenty of home made play dough recipes out there (and although I wouldn’t use it with dolls, you can use Kood Aid to safely color it for little people).

    Now…go check your email, I’ll send you a surprise in a minute.

    • Yes, that’s a good point I left out. I currently have my opened Model Magic packets in a Ziploc bag AND a sealed storage container. I never thought about coloring homemade clay with Kool Aid, I bet it smells good too! (LOL at the “provided you ever cook” comment–I’m always amazed at the number of people who don’t know how to boil water!)

      Another good option if you have wheat allergy issues is a dough made from Corn Starch and Baking soda, shown here on this My Froggy Stuff video. I haven’t personally tried it, but it would be worth a try. She also has lots of other good info for making baking related in this video!

Leave a Reply

