New Year’s Eve Party

Hello everybody!  It’s Marie-Grace posting today.  I’m a little nervous since this is the first time I’ve ever posted, but Kit told me she would help me if I needed it.  We’ve had a great Christmas break, I can’t believe it is almost over already.  Tomorrow we’re back to school.

We had a slumber party on New Year’s Eve, we invited Abby and Zara, our new neighbors.  We had such a good time with them.  About 8 o’clock we heard the doorbell ring, so I went to answer it:

NYE 1

One nice thing about them just living across the yard from us is they could just wear their pj’s straight over!  Abby had her bathrobe on because she was sick just before Christmas and her mom didn’t want her getting a chill.  Zara had a bag in her hand.  “It’s a present for all of you to share!”  I looked in the bag–oh yummy, a giant Hershey Kiss decorated like a Santa hat!  Mmmmmm!

NYE2    NYE 3

(**note from mom–“great, more chocolate”)

I invited them in to the living room, Kit was there and when she saw them, she said “oh darn, you two have your hair pulled up too.  Hang on!”  She disappeared for a few minutes, then came back with clips in her hair, she looked sooooo silly!

NYE 4

“That’s better! Now we all have our hair up,” she said.  She didn’t think she looked ridiculous at all.  Whatever!

Abby and Zara’s mom had called earlier in the day to talk to our mom.  It seems that they couldn’t find their sleeping bags in all the stuff since they had moved.  Mom told her not to worry about it, we would figure out something.  Mom had a terrific idea–she had us bring the mattresses down from our rooms along with all of the blankets, and when we squished them side by side, there was more than enough room for four of us to sleep on.  We had a sleeping bag on the floor and then someone could sleep on the sofa.  Perfect.

We started out the evening by playing the new game that Samantha had sent us.  It was lots of fun!

NYE 5 NYE 6

Mom wanted to make sure she had pictures of all of us.

NYE 7

Then we decided to have some snacks.  “Look at all this great food!” Abby exclaimed.  “I don’t know what to try first.”

NYE 8

We all sat with our snacks and watched the ball drop. After that we just sat around and talked, Abby and Zara had a lot of questions about our school. All of a sudden someone noticed that Rebecca was very quiet. She had fallen asleep! Zara started to laugh. “I have a funny thing we could do to her if you guys want to. It won’t hurt her, it will just make us all laugh.” She had us go get some whipped cream and we put a little of it in Rebecca’s hand.
NYE 9

“Now we have to tickle her nose so she’ll try and scratch her nose and end up with whipped cream on her face!” Kit ran to the bedroom to get the bird feather we had from a friend of mom’s and went over and tickled her nose.
NYE 10

Just like clockwork she went to scratch her nose and had whipped cream everywhere. We all started laughing and she woke up. “What are you guys laughing about???”, she asked. “Go look in the bathroom mirror!”, said Cassandra through her giggles. Rebecca got up and ran to the bathroom. “Oh, you guys!”
NYE 11

She was laughing so hard when she came back in to the room, she could barely speak. “That tasted good too!” laughed Rebecca. We were just glad she wasn’t mad at us.

We kept on talking late into the night until one by one, we all fell asleep. No one knows what time it was when we finally all fell asleep, but mom told us the next morning she snuck out to take this picture about 3 AM.
NYE 12

In the morning when we woke up, mom had all sorts of goodies for us–donuts, cereal, orange juice, bacon and eggs–a regular breakfast smorgasbord! After we ate, Abby and Zara said their goodbyes and headed across the yard. We all just sat around and relaxed, we were all tired, but mom wouldn’t let us go back to sleep. We all had to stay up and have some pork and sauerkraut for lunch. I guess if you eat sauerkraut on New Year’s day, it’s supposed to bring you good luck. Hopefully it isn’t determined by how much you eat, or I won’t have very much luck, yuck!

I hope you all had a fun time and I want to wish you all a Happy New Year! I also hope you enjoyed my post. 🙂

11 thoughts on “New Year’s Eve Party

    • It was lots of fun! We want to have another party soon, we were thinking a Valentine’s Day one, mom suggested Groundhog Day. I’m still trying to figure out if she was serious or not!
      –Marie-Grace

  1. *From Julie Newman*

    Happy New Year! Looks like you guys had a groovy time! That was funny what you did to Rebecca! Whenever someone falls asleep first at my New Year’s Eve parties, I have Boomer or one of the other dogs lick their face to wake them up. *giggle*

    Our tradition for good luck in the New Year is to eat black beans and rice. It’s really outta site! My mom got the recipe from my grandma. She makes a really big pot and we eat it for days. In fact, we just had some with some pork chops. Yummy!

    • Black beans and rice sounds soooo much better! I might have to suggest that to mom for next year.
      –your friend from the future, Marie-Grace

  2. Happy New Year! Great slumber party! Looks like a lot of fun.

    Pigs search for food by pushing forward thus looking to the future so eating pork is supposed to be a positive move into the new year. The long strands of cabbage that make up sauerkraut symbolize long life. Not to mention that cabbage is another word for “cash” so eating pork and sauerkraut is looking toward a propserous new year.

    In other areas the beans and lentils and fish also represent a prosperous future because they resemble small coins. 🙂

    We love pork and sauerkraut at my house…had homemade kraut this year (was a gift to my mother-in-law) soooooooo much better than canned.

    • That’s interesting! See, American Girl dolls can be educational in ways no one even thinks of 😉

      I haven’t had homemade kraut in years. Some ladies at our church made it when I was growing up, but the church has since become defunct.

      • Yes, they can. 😀

        Oh, that’s too bad. This gift was part of a batch made for the Goschenhoppen Historians’ Christmas Market. Not sure what kind of salt they used in the curing, but it was outstanding!

  3. Ohhh, what a fun sleepover! Making one gigantic bed on the floor reminds me of the time my friends and I did that. It’s so cozy!

    You girls are such pranksters – I’m glad Rebecca had a good laugh when you all pranked her! I guess it serves her right for going to sleep so early. xD

    I’ve never heard of eating sauerkraut for good luck – just black-eyed peas! – but I looove sauerkraut anyway! It’s the Polish in me, I guess. We eat it all of the time in my family.

    Sophie

Leave a Reply

