Skates!

Hi guys, it’s Rebecca!  I’ve really been looking forward to writing something here on the blog, and I’ve got something super exciting to share today!  I asked mom several months ago if I could take ice skating lessons.  She said she didn’t have a problem with it, but ice skates and lessons are very expensive.  We made a deal that if I saved my money and paid for my own skates, she would pay for my lessons.  I saved and saved and finally got enough money to get some skates.  Then Cassandra suggested I look on eBay for skates, great idea!!!  I found a pair that looked like they were in good shape, hardly used, and I won the auction, whooo hooo!  Today around lunch time I heard the UPS man out front and sure enough, my skates were here.  I’m so so excited, can you tell?!?!?!?!

I took the package up to my room and opened them up, they are in beautiful shape, even included a set of blade guards.  I’m all set now, I can’t wait until January when my lessons start.

Skates 1

After I was done admiring them, I took them across the hall to show Cassandra. She’s been in bed since last night, she got sick right after we got home from school, poor thing. NOT the way to start Christmas break! She is feeling a little better though, she felt good enough to eat some chicken noodle soup and drink some hot tea. She was very excited when I showed her my skates too, she had a big smile on her face. She is such a good friend, I’m so glad she was able to help me find these online.
Skates 2

Skates 3

Coconut doesn’t like the skates, she keeps wanting Cassandra to play with her and keeps bringing her toy, trying to climb in to bed with her. No Coconut! You’ll knock the soup over!
Skates 4

After I was done showing them to Cassandra (and Coconut), I took them downstairs. I really wanted to try them on and see if I could stand up, but when mom saw me putting them on she said “NOT on the hardwood floor!” Darn!! I did take them outside and left the blade guards on them. I could stand! But cement isn’t quite as much fun as ice. 😦

Skates 5
It’s unseasonably warm in Western Pennsylvania this week, I was able to run outside without a sweater even!

Mom said that when she was my age, she and her friends used to skate on a big pond across from her house. She said it was scary sometimes because it would make this roaring sound when things shifted, plus you couldn’t skate on it the whole winter if the weather got too warm. I’m glad there are ice rinks, sounds much safer to me!

Cassandra will be writing the next post after we have our Christmas celebration, as long as she’s feeling better. I just hope we all don’t catch what she has, yuck! Merry Christmas!

5 thoughts on “Skates!

  1. It’s groovy you got new skates Rebecca. I can only roller skate. I hope your friend Cassandra is feeling better soon. It’s no fun being sick, especially at Christmas!

    • That’s cool that you know how to roller skate Julie, I’d like to try that sometime. Cassandra is feeling so much better, mom said it was probably just one of those 24 hour bugs. So far no one else has it, I hope it stays that way!
      –your friend from the future, Rebecca

Leave a Reply

