Poll Results, Predictions and Holiday Wishes

I’ve officially closed the poll for favorite Girl Of The Year–the winner with just over 21% of the vote is:

KANANI!

 

In second place with  just under 18% is:

A tie between Saige and Jess

The rest are as follows:

14% Not A Fan of Girl of the Year

7% each for Mia and Chrissa

3 1/2% of the vote each for Isabelle, McKenna, Lanie and Marisol

NO votes at all for Nikki, Kailey and Lindsey

I’m not at all surprised at the top three places, it pretty much went as I had figured.  I based my predictions on current secondary market prices, amazing how accurate that is!  I was surprised to see the 2 of the oldest girls get no votes at all, but not at all surprised to see Kailey get no votes, I never thought she was an appealing doll at all.  Less than 2 weeks till the new GOTY is released.  I will be curious to see just how accurate some of the leaks have been.

What do you think American Girl will come out with in 2015?  We are overdue for a new meet outfit for the My American Girl Line, so I think we will definitely see that.  There has been a TON of speculation about a new historical doll from the 1950’s, I think that is probably somewhat accurate.  I personally would love to see a new doll accessory set focused around some sort of creative art-painting, drawing, pottery, etc.  I don’t think there is any question that something along those lines would do well given the immense popularity of the painting set that was sold for Saige.  I think an expansion of the pets line too would be a whole lot of fun, the sets sold in Costco earlier this year did very well and were beyond cute!  And last, (but not least) an expansion of ethnic dolls somewhere, anywhere–MAG, Historical, wherever.  There are so many ethnic groups that could be represented by this line of dolls.  They (AG) are stuck in a rut.

A couple of posts ago I wrote about a doll I used to have called Swingy.  I didn’t realize that I would trigger an obsession in one of my friends/fellow doll bloggers when I wrote it.  Sharry from Julie Newman’s 70’s Time Capsule went on a hunt for Swingy and she found one in absolutely fantastic condition.  Be sure to check out her You Tube Post:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bk2NRBsGO9Y

The gang here is on break starting mid-week for the holiday, and I’ve promised each of them that they could write their own post.  Kit is busy trying to find out what is going on behind us, so be sure to stay tuned for the next installment of “The Empty House”.  We have lots of things going on over the next two weeks, so I’m sure they will have plenty to write about.  In the meantime, since I will only be advising them, I just want to say:

Happy Dollidays and Wishing You All The Merriest of Christmases and Holiday Seasons!!!

–Flo

 

5 thoughts on “Poll Results, Predictions and Holiday Wishes

  1. Thanks for the “shout-out” Flo! Opening and playing w/ Swingy reminded me of those Christmases when I was little opening some new and exciting mechanical doll. I got a Baby Small Walk (similar to Tiny Swingy, except she doesn’t move her arms) yesterday and it was a dance party! I only wish my Mego Dancing Lainie doll was working too and could have joined them. I would love to see another black doll released for AG and a new meet outfit for MAGs. I saw the leaked photo of “Grace Thomas” and don’t like the way she looks at all. The 50s doll should be interesting I guess, only the Our Generation line already has a jump on clothes and really cool accessories, so any of your AGs can now be a 50s doll! I hope you, your family and your dolls have a very Merry Christmas and a groovy New Year! (that was from Julie!)

    • You’re welcome-thank you as well! If the GOTY looks like the leaked photos I won’t be buying her either. Just not different enough from what I already have to warrant spending the money.

      Sounds like a fun dance party!

  2. Wow! I’m not surprised Kanani was #1, but I’m a little surprised McKenna and Marisol were so low. It seems like people are always looking for either of them. I agree, I’m probably going to skip on GOTY 2015, too. Her sets might be a different story, though… ;D

    • McKenna and Marisol surprised me too, go figure! (insert *shrug* here) Have you seen the leaked photos of the sets for GOTY 2015? Some really cute stuff–but again, some of it out of price range for the average consumer. There is one though that I definitely want to get for my girls, it will match the rest of their kitchen stuff really well too.

Leave a Reply

