What next?

I know that sounds like a strange title for a post, but you’ll understand in a few seconds.  Or minutes, depending on how fast you read! 🙂

What it means–what is next on my wish list?  What would I like to get next?  I see plenty of blogs with gals debating on what doll they would like to have next, what accessories, etc.  So I had to ask myself the question, now what?

January is a time of great excitement at AG, and 2015 looks like it is shaping up to be a big deal.  We only have 2 weeks left in 2014 and very little has leaked out about the GOTY for 2015.  I’m sure that this will generate a lot of buzz and sales for AG.  I’ve seen the photos of the supposed GOTY 2015 and I’ll be honest, I doubt I’ll buy her.  For several reasons:  she’s not unique, she looks too much like Rebecca that I already have and I really think AG dropped the ball in not making her from either the Sonali or Marie Grace mold.  I’m not saying I’d never buy her since so much at this point is speculation.  I’ll make a better determination after the official release, but it’s not high on my list.  I was really hoping for a doll with more ethnicity this time around.  I guess we’ll soon find out.

As for any other dolls, I’m on hold at the moment.  I love the current dolls available with the Sonali mold, but I’m not 100% sold on the hair on either of them.  Not sure why, I’m just not.  I’m hopeful that they will do another doll in the new year with this mold.  Still kicking myself that I missed out on Cecile.  I’ve also thought of doing some eye-swap/wig swap stuff, not ruling it out completely.   Just waiting and thinking.

One thing I really do want is Kit’s typewriter.  Right now it’s currently on backorder which is okay, I’ll make sure I get on the list for one sometime after the new year.  Another thing I’d really like to have is ice skates.  I’m not in a hurry though, I do like the current skating costume, but will probably wait until they introduce a new one and it goes on clearance.  Or look for a pair of the skates on Ebay.  Have to have the blade guards too, not just skates.  If you haven’t figured it out already, I’m cheap.  There are a couple of other outfits I like, but nothing really jumps out at me as “you have to have this!”

American Girl ran a HUGE number of sales this holiday season, and from what I’ve been reading, a lot of it was unprecedented.  I have also noticed that there are a lot of sell outs of items with no backorder dates.  Something tells me that we are going to see a lot of new items coming out in 2015.  Fingers crossed that I am not disappointed.

So I will wait and see what 2015 has to offer.  Looking forward to the new catalog when it comes out.  What’s on your list?

6 thoughts on “What next?

  1. On my list:

    Kit
    Kit’s desk set (which doesn’t ship to Canada but there is an AG store in Seattle that is pretty easy for me to get to)
    Kit’s typewriter
    Kit’s reporter accessories
    Isabelle’s sewing machine (this may be an ebay hunt)

    I would love love love to see a true redhead at some point.

    • Good luck on the sewing machine, I have a feeling the price on it will be ridiculous once it hits Ebay. I want to try and make one, one of the projects on my post holiday list.

  2. My list? Well…Maplelea Saila and My London Doll Jermaine and Soy Tu Lis are on my doll wish list. On my non-doll list is the OG Retro diner which I have no hopes of finding any time soon.

    • Saila is adorable! I also like Lola from Adora, but I’m trying to stay away from dolls for a little while until I get my doll house in it’s permanent spot-whenever I decide where that is!!!

  3. I just recently got #47 w/ the Sonali mold from Ebay. I love her to pieces, but her hair is rather challenging. It isn’t as long as depicted on the AG site and it’s cut in layers. Layers are OK if the hair is longer. I can’t even really put her hair in pigtails. Yes, an ethnic doll would be nice. AG needs to broaden their scope a little. The world is a rainbow. They could re-use Kaya’s mold, or Marie-Grace’s for doll’s of different shades. Just because a doll is black doesn’t mean she has to have the Addy face mold (which as a black person, I’m not too crazy about), and some more dolls w/ the Sonali mold would be nice. Even the classic mold could be a black doll. But sadly, black dolls don’t sell as well. I doubt we’ll ever see a black GOTY. I am looking forward to seeing what BeForever will have this spring for Julie. (You know me, all about the 70s!). I’d get the snack set if it went on a flash sale, but $50 for what you get is just too much! I will probably at some point get Julie’s Winter Coat and Hat as I had a coat just like that in navy demin and grey fur collar and cuffs.

    • That’s what I was afraid of with #47’s hair, I have the same issue with Cassandra/#40. It’s beautiful, but just not quite long enough to do much with. There is so much they could do with all of these molds. I’m tired of seeing every single new doll come with the original mold or the Josefina mold when they have other molds available. Too funny that you had a coat like Julie’s, so did I! Mine was rust colored faux suede with cream faux fur. Oh, we certainly were girls of the 70’s, weren’t we?!

Leave a Reply

