Sore Throats, Thanksgiving, Cyber Monday and Thrift Store Doll Finds!

I mentioned in a previous post that I thought I was coming down with something.  I was right.  Before the week was out I had the worst sore throat I’ve had in my entire life.  So sore that I felt like crying, but I knew that would make it worse.  Unfortunately it wasn’t gone in time for Thanksgiving, so I postponed our dinner, I’m sure my guests didn’t want a bug along with their pumpkin pie!  Luckily I was starting to feel better by the time our new dinner date of Sunday rolled around.  I’m still dealing with some of it, but I’m hopeful that it is on it’s way out.  Everyone I’ve talked to said it hangs around about two weeks.  Yuck.

Did everyone have fun on Cyber Monday?  I didn’t do a ton of shopping, but I did check out the American Girl website and picked up a few things.  Several outfits were ones that I’ve had my eye on, so I was super happy that I got them at such a great price.  Sorry, not going to share with you what I got just yet, let me just say that my dolls are going to have an awesome Christmas!  If you didn’t get a chance to check out the big sale, they still have some things on sale that are good deals, and some stuff that has been reduced further.

Since I was sick for the past week, I hadn’t been out very much.  Put it this way, I drove as far as the garage to drop my car off to get tires on it, and then back to get it and home.  That’s it.  Yesterday I was not only suffering from a bad case of cabin fever, but I also had a bunch of errands that needed run.  After I got done with the “must do” stuff, I took myself to lunch at my favorite Mexican place, then headed to the local Goodwill.  It was a good day for little things!

First, one of my favorite things to look for at thrift stores-a mini book!

Thrift 1

Loved the title, it goes so well with the AG theme, doesn’t it?

Then I came across this little jar, I was super excited when I saw it:

Thrift 2

This was one of those “couldn’t pick it up fast enough” things.  I’m going to put little cookies in it I think it will be perfect.

Lastly, something for the holidays:

Thrift 3

I thought this little bin would be perfect with mini pop cans in it.  I need to dig through my stuff and see if I still have those clear beads to use as ice.  If not, I guess I’ll have to make a trip to the craft store to get some cheap ones.  Or maybe Dollar Tree?  Now the girls have to have a Christmas party, don’t you think?!?!

My total bill for this trip: $1.21!  I love thrift stores 🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “Sore Throats, Thanksgiving, Cyber Monday and Thrift Store Doll Finds!

Leave a Reply

