Someplace to sit

I’ve been working a lot on furnishings for the doll “house”,  it’s going very well.  I took a day last week to work on the chair projects I had.  Some of you may remember this vegetable bin that I picked up at a thrift store for 50 cents:

AG Thrift 4

If you look closely, you can see a strip of tape residue on the front part.  It wouldn’t come off no matter what I tried.  Good thing I had planned on spray painting it anyhow.  I painted it brown, then set to work on making a cushion for it.

I started off by cutting some foam to fit the bottom and the back.  It took a couple of trims on it until I was happy with it, but it was worth it because it was a perfect fit when I was done.

chair 1

Once I had those pieces the sizes I wanted, I then cut two pieces of fabric, wide enough to allow for the thickness of the foam and the seam allowance and long enough to allow for both pieces of foam and a little extra for the bottom.

Chair 2

I sewed both of those pieces together on the two long sides and one short so it created a long narrow pouch.  Then I put the smaller piece of foam in (the back of the chair) and sewed a seam just below where it ended to hold it in place.

Chair 3

I then inserted the second piece of foam and did the same thing.  Then I hemmed the remaining fabric so it hung down over the front, conveniently covering up that tape mess that I couldn’t get rid of.

The finished product!

Chair 4

A far cry from a vegetable bin, wouldn’t you say?

Chair 8 Chair 9

Cassandra says it’s very comfy!

Chair 5

The other chair I had was this mess:

Thrift Store 1
It was filthy dirty, still not sure what that was that was spilled on it, and had a bad paint job. I also painted it brown and did basically the same thing with it as I did with the other chair, but I used quilt batting to make it more of a chair pad as opposed to a cushion.
Chair 6

Because of the way this chair is shaped, I ended up putting ribbon on it so the pad wouldn’t just fall off. I think it turned out cute.
Chair 7
I don’t like this one as well as the other, but it works. I think the first one looks much more comfy, don’t you agree?

I only have two more pieces to paint for the living room, I feel like I’m making some progress. I probably will have to take some time off from working on it to get ready for Thanksgiving, that darned turkey!

4 thoughts on “Someplace to sit

  1. […] On the floor is a basket I found at a Goodwill, it makes a perfect place to store the Scrabble game, Apples to Apples and a deck of cards.  I hope to add a few more games to it.  The music stand is the one that Barbie Girl gave me and I added some sheet music to it by searching online for photos of sheet music and resizing it to fit before printing.  It’s all sitting on the adorable owl table I showed a few weeks ago from a thrift store run.  The chair is the vegetable bin I modified, it’s one of my favorite pieces in the whole room. (You can see that modification here.) […]

Leave a Reply

