From Box to Bed

With Cassandra joining the group, we needed another bed!  I’d been debating on what I wanted to do for a while.  I really didn’t want to purchase another bed, as anyone who collects this stuff knows, it takes up a lot of space.  Then I had one of those “well duh!” kind of moments.  Anyone who reads any American Girl/18 inch doll blogs knows that so many people reuse the boxes for everything and anything.  And I had the perfect box for a doll bed right under my nose, I just hadn’t thought about it.

The box:  this is the box that the American Girl of Today bunk bed set I have came in.  I didn’t want to get rid of it because it does come in handy for storage plus anyone who collects knows that should you ever decide to sell any of your stuff, it usually commands a higher price if you still have the box.  I have no designs on selling this set anytime soon because I just love it, but you never know.  The dimensions were perfect though since it was actually made for shipping a bed!

box bed 1
I put on my thinking cap for several weeks before I started working on it because I had a couple of things I wanted to do, but I did not want to alter the box in any way. Hmmmmm…then all of a sudden I got a brain storm.

First off I didn’t want all of the black to show. It would be fine if some of the bottom was showing because that usually happens with a real bed. So I set to work and made a bed skirt to cover the box:
box bed 2
On the back side I used two strips of elastic, first off to make it fit the box tighter. I had an ulterior motive with this too.

box bed 3
From a piece of foam board I made a headboard and made a sleeve from fabric to cover it with.
box bed 4
And here’s that elastic holding it all in place so I didn’t have to use ANY adhesive!
box bed 5

I made a mattress and fitted sheet for it:
box bed 6
Then finished it off with a reversible comforter and pillows:
box bed 7

box bed 8

I am really tickled with how it turned out! The pink paisley fabric is flannel, I first saw this on Etsy, someone had a bedding set for sale made out of it. I fell in love with it, but couldn’t find the fabric anywhere. 😦 Several weeks ago I finally found it while looking around a Walmart near a friend’s house, I was so excited. The turquoise fabric came from JoAnn Fabrics. The little blue throw pillow came with an Our Generation set that had a sleeping bag in it, I couldn’t get over what a perfect color match it was to my project, it just had to go on this bed.

Marie-Grace couldn’t get her PJ’s on fast enough to crawl in!

Box bed 9

I have a couple of pieces of furniture to paint to go with this, I was able to find the exact turquoise color in paint. With all of these projects-I need a 48-hour day about now. 😉

4 thoughts on “From Box to Bed

  1. That bed is fabulous! And if you think about it, that’s pretty much how AG did the first Molly bed. You know, you should have this kit in an Etsy shop, (for smaller doll boxes). I’d buy one!

    • I never saw Molly’s first bed in person, but now that you mention it I can see the similarities. Making it for smaller boxes-hmmm, that’s a thought. But not until I get all the things done for my girls. I do have two dolls boxes I can use though if/when I decide to start!

Leave a Reply

