Doll Sized Finds: A little of this, that and everything!

I had a very interesting week when it came to shopping and I found some really fun stuff.  I also encountered some really unusual stuff and experiences.

I went to my sister’s house, I’ve mentioned before that she lives two hours away, and I wanted to get a trip in before bad weather set in.  On the way to her house I stopped by Target and picked up the Our Generation What a Trek Set.  I’m not going to review it or even show it, there is a terrific review of it over on Many Small Friends if you wish to see it.  I was just excited to find it, and on sale too. 🙂

My sister and I decided instead of our usual shopping, we would go to the thrift store not far away.  It is a St. Vincent DePaul store, and I have to say that I loved it.  Well organized, terrific variety, great pricing-what else could you ask for?!  I found two doll things I couldn’t pass up.  First I ran across this:

a
Is this not the coolest thing EVER?? It is (as I suspected) an antique, made in the late 60’s or early 70’s for a doll named Sindy. Sindy was the British sort of version of Barbie and at one point the Marx toy corporation thought she would do well in the US. She didn’t. I vaguely remember these dolls and I wasn’t all that impressed, but I honestly don’t remember ever seeing the furniture. At 13 inches tall, this cabinet is probably too short to use in an AG display, I still haven’t decided what I’m going to do with it. However, I only paid (are you ready for this?) a whopping quarter for it!!!!!!!!!!!! Yeah, as I told my niece, I couldn’t get it in my cart fast enough. I just had a gut feeling about it and I’ve thrown more money away on a candy bar than that. On Ebay these sell for anywhere from $20 – $50 depending on condition, if it has the box, etc. This one is missing a drawer so it would sell on the low end, but not for only 25 cents. Definitely one of my better finds.

Next I found this adorable little shelf, I think it was probably intended as a desk organizer. It was $4, but I could see it had some serious potential, so I decided to get it.
b
After I got it home, the wheels started turning and I realized just how perfect it was. Here it is after I gave it a good cleaning and put some of my AG accessories on it. I still haven’t decided if I’m going to leave it as-is or paint it.
e

On Saturday there was a craft show not far from me. I picked up a couple of things-a headband, a doll outfit and some maple sugar candy. Not only did I get the traditional maple sugar candy shaped like leaves, but something I have NEVER seen before: cotton candy made from maple sugar! It is really unique, it’s good, when it melts it is much grittier than regular cotton candy.

Anyhow, here’s the cute doll outfit I picked up. It was only $8 and I thought it was very cute. The lady I bought it from said that almost all of her doll clothes are one of a kind because she uses up scraps from other sewing projects as opposed to buying fabric just to make doll outfits from. I thought that was pretty cool.
photo

Later that day my husband and I decided to go check out two indoor flea markets about 15 minutes away. Thank heavens we didn’t have to pay to get in to either of them, what a let down. The first one was a dump, filthy dirty, full of junk, sometimes I just can’t believe some of the things people will try and sell. The second one was okay, but not all that impressive, both had very poor selection, it seemed like it was a lot of the same kind of stuff over and over again. Our takeaway from it is that die cast cars are big right now. Oh well. I did find something at least, so it wasn’t a total waste of time. I got these three little mugs for $2, but buying them was a strange experience too, the guy I bought them from was either desperate for a sale or just wanted rid of them, because I hadn’t even asked, was just looking at them and he immediately reduced the price. Oh, okay, I was willing to pay what he had them marked as, but I wasn’t telling him that!
d
I love the two with the wildlife scenes on them, the other one with the squirrel I’m still trying to figure out-is he throwing a temper tantrum or what?!?! Kind of goes with the whole experience, everytime I use these in a doll layout, I will remember the bizarre place they came from…

f
“Hey, you look like me!!!”

This last photo isn’t doll related at all, it just cracked me up. I bought this ceramic dog on the shopping trip with my sister for 50 cents, I thought it was cute and I’m a sucker for anything collie/sheltie related. I was taking a photo of it to show a friend, and “somebody” decided she had to get in on the act. Spoiled rotten little dog!

4 thoughts on “Doll Sized Finds: A little of this, that and everything!

Leave a Reply

