Hmmmm…

I’ve shared with all of you my thrift store finds.  I think that you will notice one thing that most of these items have in common–they aren’t American Girl brand, in fact a lot of them aren’t even really intended for doll use.  The closest I’ve come to that is the Battat horse I found.

This past week two doll bloggers/collectors made some awesome finds.  One found Mia’s bed set.  It wasn’t cheap (still $50 by the time she used a coupon), but an incredible find considering Mia has been retired for a while now.  Another found a used Kanani that needed some TLC for $20 and the snack cart for (are you sitting down) $7!!!  It was missing some parts, but the main part of it was intact and appeared to be in good shape.  I wish I could find something even close to this awesome.  I keep coming up empty handed for the most part.

I’m wondering what the issue is.  I know that people are donating stuff like crazy, I’ve even been turned away a time or two when I went to donate because they were too full.  I know as a kid I regularly cleaned out my toys and donated them, and I’m sure that still goes on.  Yet when I go to most of the thrift stores around here, not only am I not seeing any AG or related stuff, I’m not seeing much as far as toys go period.  What they do have is junk and probably should just have been thrown in the trash.  Our local Goodwill has a tiny toy section, almost non-existent, and I have yet to find a single thing I would purchase.  I’ve noticed this at other Goodwill stores in this area too.  Weird.

I hope this means that a lot of the toys are perhaps being refurbished and given to kids that don’t have much.  That would be fine.  However, I do have concerns that anything that might be of any value is being scooped up by unscrupulous employees who are reselling them for personal profit.  I’m not just pulling that off the top of my head either, there was a scandal several years back with a local thrift store employee who was doing this with various items.  She was let go from her job as a result.  There have been some other incidents as well.  My sister won’t donate to several organizations in her area because of this.

Have you found anything AG or other toy related at thrift stores that you would consider a great find?   I’m just curious.  I am going to check out a different store that my niece told me about, if I find anything cool, I’ll be sure to show it to you.  I’m not holding my breath though.  For me it seems like I have to go completely out of town to find the really good stuff.  Very odd.

 

6 thoughts on “Hmmmm…

  1. Hi there!

    First, I must tell you that I’ve received 2 AG dolls for free! *Don’t faint!* First was a Bitty Twinnie girl (blonde) from my school’s rummage sale that the parents insisted I take, (and I was willing to pay), the second is a Pleasant Company #20 (retired) that used to belong to my niece’s friend (she’s grown). Her mom was cleaning out the attic and found her old AG doll. The girl asked my niece (also grown), if her aunt liked AG dolls, and she said yes, so she sent me her doll along w/ several PC outfits, shoes, violin and music stand set.

    Second, you can thank TV shows like Pawn Stars for the lack of donations, since everyone wants to sell stuff for the most money they can get. Even Goodwill has upped their prices now. Good deals are getting scarce these days.

    • How awesome that you got not one, but two for free!!! I need to find some people like that 🙂

      I think you are right about Pawn Stars causing some people to hang on to things. I laugh every time I go on Craigslist, someone has been listing a Samantha and a Molly with some accessories for months–they are asking over $2000. Get real people! What they don’t realize is how many people show up at that pawn store that get told “your stuff is crap, go away!” Our Goodwill hasn’t upped prices, most of our thrift stores are actually pretty reasonable. Hopefully it will stay that way.

  2. Hi, In all my years of thrifty shopping I haven’t found anything AG. However this summer I got a new OG doll, no clothes for $2.99. And I got a new Madame Alexander, completely clothed including boots for $6.99.I was quite pleased.

    • Cool finds! I’ve had much better luck when I go in to the city (Pittsburgh) with finding toys and the prices are quite reasonable. I found two Barbie things I had been wanting and could have bought more, still sort thinking maybe I should have bought that Barbie dream house when I saw it. Oh well.

  3. I NEVER find anything branded but I have sometimes found things to use with them. I have no idea where these people who find things live but it’s not southeastern PA. We’re close to hoity doity land so nothing is ever worth less than the original price even if it’s garbage condition in which case – land fill over donation unless you’re in the right place at the right time. No one takes time to repurpose anymore. 😦

    • Yeah, that bugs me too. A good friend just told me a story about a doll that belonged to a granddaughter of someone she knew–an AG doll. She’d made a cute dress for it as a gift. Granddaughter didn’t exactly take the best care of the doll, and when she decided she didn’t want it anymore, they threw it out!!!!! I gasped when she told me, it made me sad. We both agreed that it would have been worth it to send her to the doll hospital 😦

      We have two indoor flea markets near here that are only open on weekends, I think I might go check those out and see what I can find. It will probably be a little more expensive though, back to the “Pawn Stars” mentality thing Sharry mentioned. I did make a trip to the thrift store that my niece recommended and I have to say, they had more toys there than I’ve seen at all of the thrift stores right around here combined. Nothing that interested me, but they weren’t all junky. There was a decent Dora the Explorer doll in the mix which gives me hope. I’ll be going back.

Leave a Reply

