I’ve got to stay away from Ebay!

Actually, I don’t buy all that much from Ebay, period.  I’ve only bought 6 things since the first of the year, so that’s really not horrible.  But I do make a habit of checking American Girl auctions every morning.  I don’t find much, but it’s interesting to say the least.  Truthfully, I have more fun going to thrift stores and finding stuff I can adapt.  I enjoy the challenge.  Plus it’s cheaper.

I’ve been wanting a pair of cowboy boots to fit my dolls and I’ve been keeping my eyes opened.    Last week in my morning look/see I came across a pair I really liked, yay!  The price was reasonable and they were brand new AG brand.  I think the seller must have bought a bunch of stuff at one of the big sales this summer or at the outlet and broke the sets up to sell all the stuff individually.  Works for me 🙂

The package arrived and I barely had it open when Marie-Grace decided she had to be the first to try them on:

Ebay finds 1

They do look a little funny with her shorts, don’t they? The detail on these is terrific though and they fit really well. I think my favorite part is the way they replicated the stacked heel and sole. Very clever. I think these will look super cute with the corduroy skirt I made.
Ebay finds 2Ebay finds 3

This wasn’t the only thing I bought though.  I mentioned before that I had looked at 6 dolls at AG, but held off buying for several reasons.  One was that I wanted to wait and see what the new Girl of the Year looked like, but the other reason (which I didn’t tell you guys) was that there was an auction I was keeping my eye on for a doll that was one of the 6.  I ended up winning the auction in the last seconds which really shocked me, when I put my snipe bid in at the last minute I really didn’t think I would win it, I kind of low-balled it, but I did win.  My mouth literally dropped open when I saw the “you won this auction” thing pop up on the screen, I honestly didn’t expect to.  I won by $1.  I bet that other person was really mad.

 

 

MEET CASSANDRA LEE!

Ebay finds 4
She is a MAG #40, very good condition, I don’t think she was played with much at all, not a mark on her. She came in the Real Me Tee and Capris outfit, no shoes or underwear. I’m not a big fan of that outfit, like the capris, the t-shirt is just okay, so of course I had to change her clothes right away! I think she is so pretty and after my trip to the AG store, #40 was the number one doll I wanted, so this worked out better than I could have expected.  I got her for $64, she was a fantastic deal.

Ebay finds 5
I stuck these glasses on her out of curiosity, I think they look really good on her!

I’ve decided her backstory is she is part Chinese. Her grandparents were Chinese living in Burma and fled, coming to the US in the 70’s. When her dad was a kid, her grandparents owned a Chinese restaurant in a small town where they still live. I based her story on a family I actually knew, they were a wonderful couple who fled Burma in fear of their lives. They owned a restaurant near where I worked, so I got to know them and I watched their kids grow up over the years.

I just love her hair and the way it lays, but I do have a question for anyone out there who may have this doll–is it normal for the hair to be a little more coarse than some of the other dolls?  I’m trying to figure out if her hair has been combed a bit too much or if this is the way it is?  You can’t really see it well from this picture, but I thought I would post it anyhow.  It’s not tangled or anything, it just has some kink to it and the texture is different, but it doesn’t seem like that more towards the top.  Would love any feedback on this along with a way to perhaps smooth it out if it’s not supposed to be that way.  It’s not a huge deal, it doesn’t affect how her hair lays.  I just don’t want it to get any worse.

Ebay finds 6

Now I’m done shopping for a while. I need to spend some time organizing my stuff and I have a whole slew of projects I need to work on to share with all of you. I did make a thrift store run this week and I found some cool stuff that I will post about next week. Hoping that the weather next week cooperates, I have a whole bunch of stuff I want to prime and/or spray paint.

One quick thing here that I think all of the Ebay shoppers need to be aware of. In my daily looks, I have noticed an influx of supposedly new merchandise from retired and archived collections. This ordinarily wouldn’t bother me, especially if the sellers were from the Midwest, I would just assume that this was stuff picked up over the summer at one of the AG sales. The problem is it’s all being sold by people from Hong Kong, Taiwan and Singapore. For that reason, I have concerns that this merchandise may be counterfeit. That might not bother some people, but it does bother me for a number of reasons. The main one is that this merchandise may not be made of quality materials. AG prides itself on using colorfast dyes in their clothing so that if you leave an outfit on a doll for an extended period of time, you aren’t going to find that the clothing has discolored the doll. Since I suspect this merchandise is counterfeit, you have no way of knowing if they have used the same kind of materials in it. It may have AG tags on it, but I would be hesitant to buy it for this reason. Just a heads up!

4 thoughts on “I’ve got to stay away from Ebay!

  1. Hi Flo!

    Welcome to Cassandra Lee! As you may know from Julie’s blog, her friend Lisa is a #30, which is just like #40, but w/ longer hair. Her hair is layer cut, and I do notice a slight coarseness to it. Styling can also be a challenging b/c of the layers, but she’s a really pretty doll. Congrats!

    • I was hoping you’d catch that part Sharry because I knew if anyone knew about it, you would! You’re my new hair “expert” lol. Thanks for the info, very helpful. I looked at #30 as well, but there was something about #40 that caught my eye, even though technically they are pretty much the same.

    • OMG, I’ve thought about getting her! How cool. It really is a sickness, isn’t it? LOL I love her name, can’t wait to see her on your blog.

Leave a Reply

