Pattern Review-Liberty Jane Mini Skirt

Have you tried any of the patterns over at Pixie Faire?  If you haven’t, you really should, they are awesome!  And you have no excuse, they have several patterns on their site that are free, and if you sign up for their e-mails, you get two additional patterns for free and once a week they offer another pattern free.  How can you beat that?!?!  I signed up over the summer and I have a nice collection of patterns in a very short period of time.  The mini skirt pattern that I’m going to review was one of those patterns.  It is no longer available for free, but you can still purchase it for $3.99.
mini_skirt_large

The timing on this pattern arriving in my inbox couldn’t have been better, I had “back to school” clothes on my mind. I knew I wanted to make some stuff out of corduroy and I was happy to find a nice piece of baby-wale corduroy in the remnant section at Joann’s. The remnant section is a great way to find small pieces of fabric ideal for making doll clothes at a reduced price. The pattern includes two different versions of a skirt, I decided to make the simpler of the two. Only two pieces to cut out, my kind of pattern! What was really unique was what you do to the pieces to make it appear as it has a center seam-fold in half, stitch at 1/4 inch on the back, press, then top stitch that seam down. It makes a very believable front/back seam just like you find on “real” skirts without having to try and sew multiple pieces together. Whoever thought this up was a genius, it makes it more durable as well, we all know how often we like to change our doll’s clothes 😉

The skirt works up quickly, from cutting to finish took maybe 1/2 hour. I loved the top stitching instruction too so you can make it look like it has a fly, clever. It fit the doll well and I was pleased with the finished product. Only one problem…

skirt 1
Mom, I can’t wear this to school!!!

It’s definitely a mini skirt! Kit pointed out that if she wore this to school, she would get sent home. I don’t know about where you are at, but the school districts around here have strict rules about shorts and skirt lengths. Ugh. Back to the drawing board…

I cut out a second one, this time adding about an inch to the bottom of the pattern. Very easy to do if you want a longer version. Sewed it up exactly the same way as I did the first. Tada!

Skirt 2
That’s better! I’ll save the other one for special things outside of school.

Now that I had that figured out, I decided to try it in a piece of khaki colored fabric I have. Just as cute and I have a close up of it because the top stitching shows really well:
Skirt 3
Skirt 6

Last, but not least, I wanted to try it in plaid. Every girl should have a plaid skirt in her fall wardrobe! This was another piece I found in the remnant bin and after sewing it, I know why-crooked as all get out. It works, but I think I’ll turn what is left of this piece in to throw pillows or something.
Skirt 4

Skirt 5
Check out the squirrel–ooops, sorry!

I would give this pattern a thumbs up for sure! Very easy to use, would be a great pattern for someone learning to sew or if you need a quick gift for a doll lover. I haven’t tried the other pattern included yet, I’ve had too many other things I’ve been working on, one of these days I’ll get to it. They also had the great idea in the pattern of using an old pair of jeans to make the skirt, love it!

If you’d like to purchase this pattern, you can find it here. I think it’s definitely worth the price because you can make it out of so many different fabrics and like I did, change the length easily because of it’s simple design. Which do you like better, the mini version or the longer style?

Leave a Reply

