Doll Sized Finds-Thrift Store version!

The last two weeks the majority of my doll sized finds have been at thrift stores.  That makes me very happy because it means not only finding unique stuff but saving lots of money too!  My first find was at a thrift store about 20 minutes from home, I hadn’t been there for a while.  I just loved this little picture frame and it was only 49 cents!  I’m not sure what or who I’m going to put in it, it’s only about 1 1/2 tall, perfect for doll stuff.

AG Thrift

I mentioned a few posts ago about riding with my husband to see a client so I could go to Target. There are also two thrift stores near there that I hadn’t been to in a very long time, and I figured it was worth stopping–and was it ever! At the first stop I found these:
AG Thrift1
Two baseball hats for 49 cents.  Funny part is not too long ago I was reading another doll blog and someone was talking about these hats and I was kicking myself for leaving the one I had on my desk with paper clips in it when I quit my job. We aren’t Kansas City fans, but I am thinking I will make uniforms more like a little league team and either repaint them or just put stickers over the logo.

The next store I spent $3.00 and got these items:
AG Thrift 2
The little Etch A Sketch is just slightly too large, but not horrible-and it works! If I decide it’s too big for the dolls I’ll play with it 😉 I haven’t decided if I’m going to leave the basket as is or remove the decorations and do something else. I thought it was so cute, I couldn’t pass it up. The bathtub is a little on the small side, but I have a couple of ideas for it. I couldn’t not take a chance on it for $1!

Last weekend I ran to the Goodwill store here in town and found this item. Can you guess what I’m going to turn it in to?
AG Thrift 4
When I brought it home I showed it to my husband and asked him what he thought I would make it in to. He guessed right immediately-“A chair like your mom used to have.” GOOD JOB! I have trained him well. I also got a pretty clear glass bowl that I’m going to use on one of the following items.

The neighbors in the next block were having a yard sale. We weren’t going to stop, but I did my usual from the car gawk and I couldn’t believe my eyes. Several weeks ago I read this post over at American Girl Doll Play and thought I would keep my eyes out for something similar.  I walked in to their garage and there it was–the same exact little cabinet!!!  And they were only asking $1!!!!!!!!!!!!!  HAPPY DANCE!!!!  I couldn’t get the dollar out of my wallet fast enough.  The other little cabinet was there too and I didn’t buy it then, but after got home was kicking myself for not getting it, so went back the next morning.  Luckily it was still there and it was also only $1!  Made my whole Labor Day weekend.

AG Thrift 3The cabinet on the left I’m going to repaint and use it for a little dining room idea I have for dolls. The other item I’m going to change quite a bit to turn it in to a bathroom vanity with sink, mirror and storage. I will be sure to show you how they both turn out as well as the other stuff. I’m stocking up on projects to work on when the weather turns cold. I think I did well with all of these finds though, I spent around $7 and got all of this. I love thrift stores! 🙂

Leave a Reply

