Cousin Felicity Comes To Visit!

My sister came to see me a couple of days ago, she lives about 2 hours away and we don’t get to see each other nearly enough.  She arrived Thursday evening and left Saturday afternoon.  Usually we just hang out and go shopping, but this time before she came, I asked her if she would like to make a Downton Abbey dress for her AG doll.  She thought it sounded like fun, so we spent some time on Friday afternoon and Saturday morning making dresses.  I told her to bring Felicity with her, and was I ever glad she did.  Not just because I just wanted to look at her doll, but another reason.  I knew that the older AG dolls tend to be a little larger than the newer ones, and I wanted to be sure that the dress fit correctly.  My gosh, it is such a good thing that she brought her along for a proper fitting, because it definitely wasn’t going to fit!  I was absolutely stunned at how far off it was because my Samantha doll is an older PC/AG doll, but the dresses weren’t this far off on her.  I even had her cut the pattern just a bit bigger to be on the safe side.   I was really puzzled, so I decided to get out my tape measure.  Turns out Felicity is a good 3/4 inch bigger around than even Samantha!  That doesn’t sound like a whole lot, but if you convert that to human sized measurements, that’s somewhere between 2 1/2 – 3 inches which can be the difference between one size and another in certain styles of clothing.  YIKES!  After thinking on it we came up with a way to solve the issue and it worked well.  However, it leaves me with a bit of a dilemma on what to do about a dress I was going to make off this pattern to donate for a raffle, not sure exactly what size I should make it :/   We determined that Felicity was purchased sometime in the late 1990’s, anyone else have this problem with dolls from that era as well?

Anyhow, we each picked different fabrics out to make the dresses from.  I think that both versions turned out really cute, I can’t decide which is my favorite.  Marie-Grace really wanted to model it alongside her cousin Felicity, so I said sure, I really think it looks great on her:

Front of Felicity’s dress: (her hair kept getting in her one eye!)

Felicity 1Felicity 2

Back of Felicity’s dress with the insert:

Felicity 3 Felicity 4

Felicity and Marie-Grace together:

Felicity 5 Felicity 6

I can’t decide which one I like best!  Which one do you like?

Felicity in the car ready to leave:

Felicity 7

Marie-Grace showing the front and back of her dress.  I think the blue shade in the dress brings out the blue in her eyes even more!

Felicity 8 Felicity 9

I just have to say that I am really glad I decided at the last minute to get Marie-Grace, it’s a shame that they decided to discontinue her.  I think she is probably one of the prettiest dolls that AG has done.  I will be curious to see if they do any dolls in the future with this face mold.

I hope all of those reading in the United States are having a great Labor Day weekend!  It’s raining here, ugh.

 

One thought on “Cousin Felicity Comes To Visit!

Leave a Reply

