Doll Sized finds for Mid-August!

Up until yesterday I didn’t have much to show you guys as far as doll sized finds.  That all changed in a hurry!  I decided to make a spur of the moment trip to Pittsburgh to my favorite thrift store, Red White & Blue.  If you live in the Pittsburgh area, there are two of them, my favorite is the one on the North Side, Ohio River Boulevard.  I have found some awesome stuff at that store and yesterday was no different.  I didn’t buy a ton, but I still think I did well.

My first find is something I found last week.  I went to one of my favorite stores, Gabriel Brothers.  I hadn’t been there since June because we’d had so much going on and the closest one is about 25 minutes away. Gabriel’s is a closeout type store, along the lines of TJMaxx.  I went there to see if I could find any onesies to refashion and also to get my husband some work socks.  I only found one onesie with potential (what was up with that?!), I haven’t done anything with it yet because it’s different and I haven’t decided exactly what I want to do with it.  I did find my husband some socks.  I was standing in the check out lane when something caught my eye…what the…hmmmmmm………..

I found these little “soda cans”, they have candy in them that fizzes when you eat it!  They are the perfect size for AG dolls and the candy isn’t bad either!

AG Finds 1 AG Finds 2

Aren’t they cute?  I got six of them for 99 cents, not bad.  I love that the little tab stays attached, you can leave it up like you would on a real can.  The flavors are lemon lime (think Sprite) grape, orange and cola.  I’ve only opened the lemon lime and the grape, definitely like the grape the best so far.  Here’s Kit drinking some soda:

AG Finds 3
You can see in this photo just how perfect they are! Uh Kit, my husband is going to want his recliner back, so don’t get too comfortable!

Yesterday I was debating on what to do and all of a sudden I decided to make a Red White and Blue run.  You never know what you are going to find at a thrift store so you have to go with an open mind, especially when looking for doll stuff.  I was good, I didn’t buy ANY clothing for me, I need nothing.  I did find some newborn sized onesies to turn in to doll t-shirts-yay!  One of the nice things about buying them in a thrift store isn’t just that they are cheap (95 cents each) but you can also get a better variety of colors.

AG Finds 6
They are already in the washing machine as I type, I know what I’ll be doing this afternoon 😉 I also found these adorable little newborn hats, brand new with the tag still on them for $1.95. I thought they were adorable and they will go perfectly with the little fleece vests I’m planning on making.
AG Finds 5
The funniest part of buying these baby clothes was when I got to the checkout, the cashier says to me “these look more like doll clothes than baby clothes!” I told her that was EXACTLY what they were going to be turned in to.

And now for the big find…drumroll please…A HORSE!!! Yes, I found a Battat/Our Generation horse, complete with bridle and saddle for…are you sitting down…$4.95! I couldn’t pass it up for that price. I’ve been thinking that I would like a horse for my dolls, but I just couldn’t bring myself to pay the price they wanted, the cheapest ones I’ve found are $35. I figured if I could find one that was at a yard sale or a situation like this I would do much better. I certainly didn’t expect to find one this cheap.

AG Finds 8
“I’m so glad to have a new home!”

It’s actually in pretty good shape, the mane and tail are really good, not a big frizzy mess. The biggest problem are some marks that I think are what they call “melt marks”, they are caused by an interaction between the plastic of the horse and the rubber/plastic composite of the saddle and bridle. I haven’t tried anything to remove it just yet, but I’ve been doing some research on ways to handle it. If worst comes to worst, I will just sand the horse down and repaint it, I’m not totally thrilled with it’s color anyhow, I would rather it be a true Palomino color.
AG Finds 9

AG Finds 10
It also looks like someone did do some painting on the nose, doesn’t it?

AG Finds 11
In this photo you can see where some of the color came off on the saddle straps, ugh. I don’t know that I will use this saddle again once I do repaint it, I have some ideas on making my own if I can find the right materials. If nothing else this one will at least give me a good pattern so I get the size right. I definitely want to make a different bridle too, I don’t like the one included at all.

On my way home I decided to stop at the Goodwill in Cranberry. I don’t know what it is about our area Goodwill stores, but they have very little as far as toys. Not sure if maybe they donate them to a Toys For Tots like program or what, but I haven’t had much luck in finding anything toy related at any of their stores in our area. I did find this item that is actually a Bath and Body Works container, it is small, it must have held a couple of small travel sized bottles. It was only $1.99 and I thought it would be cute for doll stuff too, they can use it to store magazines, or better yet, horse supplies!
AG Finds 7
Last but not least, this find isn’t doll related, but I thought I would share it with you anyhow-a Department 56 building for $3.99, wow!
AG Finds 4
I looked it up this morning and it is a discontinued building, but sold for about $60 originally, I think I did great and it will look perfect with the rest of them that I have for my Christmas display.

Did you find anything good this week?

Leave a Reply

