Making American Girl Clothing From Onesies

Not too long ago I saw a post on a blog with an AG doll wearing a dress that was actually a baby dress.  They noted that it was a size 0-3mos.  It didn’t really process till about a week later when I wanted to make some pajamas for dolls.  I made a bunch of bottoms out of material I had around, but I wasn’t sure how I wanted to proceed with the tops.  Then for some reason I thought of Onesies, and just how easy it would be to alter them in to t-shirts and nightshirts.  Stop and think about how the top of the shirt is finished on the most recent My American Girl doll outfit–see the similarity??  I ran to TJMaxx to see what they had and I found a package of 5 in the 0-3months size for $9.99.  I actually could have spent less, but the package I found on clearance were all just plain white and these were so darned cute.  I got them home and tried one on Rebecca:

Onesie 1 Onesie 2

You can see that they were a bit big, but not horrible, just a few minor alterations and we should be good.  First I had to decide if I wanted them to be t-shirts or nightshirts and cut them off to the appropriate length, being sure to leave enough extra to hem them.  Then I sewed a seam starting on the inside of the sleeve and all the way down the side of the shirt:

Onesie 3

At this point I turned the shirt right side out again and tried it on the doll to make sure I had taken a big enough seam to make it fit better.  I had, so then I turned the shirt inside out and added a zig zag stitch beside my straight stitch to reinforce the seams, then trimmed away the excess to get a nice fit:

Onesie 4Add a hem and we’re good to go!  Here are a few of the finished products:

Onesie 5 Onesie 6 Onesie 7

I think they turned out really cute and a darned site cheaper than anything I could buy already made!  I made all of the bottoms from a Simplicity pattern, you can make one pair from a fat quarter, they really don’t use very much fabric.

A few days ago I was in TJMaxx looking for something else when I decided to look in the infants department again to see if they had anything else cute I could use.  I came across a three pack of Onesies for $5.99 in a Newborn size.  They were quite a bit thinner cut than the 0-3 months, so I decided to take a chance on them and brought them home.  When I put the first one on Kit, I was so excited:

Onesie 8
Look at how well it fits! All these ones were going to need was cutting off and hemmed, easy peasy 🙂
Onesie 9
I loved the prints on these two, especially the one with the ballet shoes on it.
Onesie 10

Onesie 11

Onesie 12
Kit and Rebecca look ready to go outside and play in these last days of summer vacation!  I love the bow on the one Rebecca is wearing.

Last but not least, another nightshirt:
Onesie 13

I have purchased another one that is a different style, I haven’t decided exactly what I’m going to do with it, but I will be sure to share it when I do. Interestingly enough it is also a Newborn size, but more on the size of the first batch I bought, so there is some size inconsistency. I will also have to check out a local infants/childrens consignment shop near here and see if there is anything inexpensive that would work, not sure with Onesies because people tend to wear these on kids a long time. If you decide to give this a try, be sure to share! One of the nice thing about using Onesies is they are designed to be easy to get on and off a baby so they are also easy to get on and off the dolls, great when making doll clothes for younger kids to play with.

Leave a Reply

