Liberty Jane/Pixie Faire Patterns

I’ve been wanting to make some doll clothes for my AG gals.  I have some patterns from McCalls and Simplicity, but they are just okay.  I’ve always found Simplicity patterns difficult to follow at times and some of their instructions make no sense at all.  I had seen some links on Pinterest for patterns made by a company called Liberty Jane but I knew nothing about them, and I didn’t know anyone who had used them, so I was a bit hesitant to spring for a pattern since they aren’t cheap.  One night while doing my usual Pinterest surfing I discovered a link to Liberty Jane that said if you sign up for their mailing list, you get two free patterns.  I figured what the heck, might as well give it a try.  Let me just say that I’m totally hooked and those McCalls and Simplicity patterns may end up on Ebay!

My two free patterns were for a polo shirt and a tank top.  Downloading the patterns was simple, they send you a link in your e-mail to download the PDF file.  Then you can print the entire pattern with instructions or like I did, just print the pages of the pattern pieces, and follow the instructions on your computer.  I reviewed the pattern before printing and I was already impressed, the instructions were very good and offered all sorts of good ideas too.  I decided to try the polo shirt just to see if it was as easy as it looked.

Here’s the finished product–I apologize for the sorry photo, I took it with my iPod.

polo

Isn’t it cute? The only place I had any real issues was sewing in the sleeves, it wasn’t easy making a 1/4″ seam on knit fabric, but I did it! To be honest, I don’t even like sewing sleeves in human sized clothing so this for me was a big challenge. 🙂

What I didn’t realize is that when you sign up for these e-mails, you get a link every Friday for another free pattern!! So far I’ve gotten patterns for yoga pants and a cute t-shirt. Liberty Jane patterns are sold through Pixie Faire and the free patterns can be from a variety of designers. They also have some other patterns that are free on the website that you can download. The selection of patterns to purchase is very large and varied too, you could make something new every week. They also offer patterns for other dolls as well, my mom would have loved the Barbie section! I’ve reviewed all of the freebies I’ve downloaded and they all look just as easy to make as the polo shirt (if not easier!). Samantha, Rebecca and Kit could have a huge wardrobe before this is all over with.

I was so impressed with the polo shirt pattern that I decided to spring for a pattern that I had my eye on before and I am not at all disappointed. It’s probably one of the easiest things I’ve ever sewn with wonderful results–so much so that I’ve used it three times already. I’ll share those with you at a later date. I will say that sewing doll clothes is not a great place for a beginner to learn from, but for someone who has some sewing experience, these patterns are a terrific way to get started on making doll clothing. Check it out and sign up for the newsletter at http://www.libertyjanepatterns.com/ HAPPY SEWING!

2 thoughts on “Liberty Jane/Pixie Faire Patterns

  1. I love Liberty Jane too! The patterns are great and so easy to use. I have made several of them and altered some to make my own designs. I look forward to every Friday and the next free pattern but I have also bought quite a few!

    • Me too, I have made this part of my Friday ritual. My goal right now is to make these patterns every week, I tried out the mini-skirt one and it is just too cute!

Leave a Reply

